Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Femfest 2022: Home

Welcome to the MIC libguide for FemFest 2022! In celebration of International Women's Day (IWD) on 8 March 2022, MIC will host FemFest - a week-long schedule of events from 7-11 March, celebrating the social, cultural and economic achievements of women. From roundtable discussions to public lectures and more, FemFest will not only highlight the successes of women, but will also look at the many challenges facing women today and discuss how we can empower women through the promotion of gender equality in our society. We have put together this guide to showcase some of the events, as well as a list of online resources, books and e-books available from the library and library website. If you would like any further information, please feel free to contact us at library@mic.ul.ie. Happy browsing!

FemFest MIC on Twitter

MIC Athena Swan on Twitter

MIC News & Events 2021/22

FemFest Events 2022

MIC Staff Publications

The Golden Thread: Irish Women Playwrights, Volume 1 (1716-1992)

This two-volume edited collection illuminates the valuable counter-canon of Irish women's playwriting with forty-two essays written by leading and emerging Irish theatre scholars and practitioners. Covering three hundred years of Irish theatre history from 1716 to 2016, it is the most comprehensive study of plays written by Irish women to date. These short essays provide both a valuable introduction and innovative analysis of key playtexts, bringing renewed attention to scripts and writers that continue to be under-represented in theatre criticism and performance. Volume One covers plays by Irish women playwrights written between 1716 to 1992, and seeks to address and redress the historic absence of Irish female playwrights in theatre histories. Highlighting the work of nine women playwrights from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, as well as thirteen of the twentieth century's key writers, the chapters in this volume explore such varied themes as the impact of space and place on identity, women's strategic use of genre, and theatrical responses to shifts in Irish politics and culture. 

The Golden Thread: Irish Women Playwrights, Volume 2 (1992-2016)

This two-volume edited collection illuminates the valuable counter-canon of Irish women's playwriting with forty-two essays written by leading and emerging Irish theatre scholars and practitioners. Covering three hundred years of Irish theatre history from 1716 to 2016, it is the most comprehensive study of plays written by Irish women to date. These short essays provide both a valuable introduction and innovative analysis of key playtexts, bringing renewed attention to scripts and writers that continue to be under-represented in theatre criticism and performance. Volume Two contains chapters focused on plays by sixteen Irish women playwrights produced between 1992 and 2016, highlighting the explosion of new work by contemporary writers. The plays in this volume explore women's experiences at the intersections of class, sexuality, disability, and ethnicity, pushing at the boundaries of how we define not only Irish theatre, but Irish identity more broadly.

Dance and Modernism in Irish and German Literature and Culture

A collection of scholarly articles and essays by dancers and scholars of ethnochoreology, dance studies, drama studies, cultural studies, literature, and architecture, Dance and Modernism in Irish and German Literature and Culture: Connections in Motion explores Irish-German connections through dance in choreographic processes and on stage, in literary texts, dance documentation, film, and architecture from the 1920s to today. The contributors discuss modernism, with a specific focus on modern dance, and its impact on different art forms and discourses in Irish and German culture. Within this framework, dance is regarded both as a motif and a specific form of spatial movement, which allows for the transgression of medial and disciplinary boundaries as well as gender, social, or cultural differences. Part 1 of the collection focuses on Irish-German cultural connections made through dance, while part 2 studies the role of dance in Irish and German literature, visual art, and architecture.

Women in the Irish Film Industry

Women in Irish Film: Stories and storytellers is an interdisciplinary collection that critically explores the contribution of women to the Irish film industry as creators of culture - screenwriters, directors, producers, cinematographers, editors, animators, film festival programmers and educators. This book will explore the experiences and reflections of Irish women practitioners and, across a range of chapters, will situate them within a very specific historical, social and cultural context and further position them within a male dominated film industry. In an accessible style, it rigorously teases out the myriad of ways that gender impacts on who has the power to speak and be heard in the film industry. The absence of women has implications for the kinds of stories being told, the diversity of characters on our screens and for employment and creative opportunities. This collection teases out the impact of women's presence and absence. It also contextualizes that contribution by interrogating why women are so underrepresented in the film industry. What factors lie behind their absence and marginalization and what steps can be taken, and are being taken, to reconfigure the landscape? An exclusive focus on women in the Irish film industry has been notably absent from publications to date. This book is long overdue and builds a nuanced picture of the underrepresentation of women in the Irish film industry. Importantly, it is anticipated that this collection will put a solid research foundation in place and forge a pathway for future scholarship.

Irish Women - Writers - At the Turn of the Twentieth Century

This major new work on significant but neglected or marginalised late nineteenth-century and early twentieth-century Irish women writers could not be more timely. This collection presents international research on the work of Irish women writers at the turn of the twentieth century. Discovering new voices and introducing original perspectives on the lives, works and networks of more familiar literary figures, these essays make a key contribution to contemporary feminist recovery projects and remapping the landscape of Irish literature of this period. There is a burgeoning interdisciplinary and international field in which a diverse range of hitherto neglected Irish women writers have been recovered, and their lives, works, networks and other contexts illuminated. Irish Women Writers at the Turn of the Twentieth Century capitalises on this rich, diverse and innovative field, drawing on new scholarship that develops existing strands of enquiry further. It also opens up new avenues for exploration. The strengths of the work is in its seeking of new engagements specifically in relation to Irish women's cultural economies, particularly literary networks, access to literary production and publication, the long nineteenth century and emergent modernist aesthetics. A further key concern is the politics of retrieval of lost women's lives and writings, the relationship of Irish feminist critical projects to the ongoing acts of commemoration associated with the formation of the Irish state, and increasing concerns with the future-proofing of 'lost' feminist digital recovery projects of the 1990s. 

Media work, mothers and motherhood : negotiating the international audio-visual industry

This interdisciplinary and international volume offers an innovative and critical exploration of the impact of motherhood on the engagement of women in media and creative industries across the globe. Diverse contributions critically engage with the intersections and overlap between social categories of worker and mother, and the work of media production and maternal caregiving. Conflicting ideas about, and expectations of, mothers are untangled in the context of the working world of radio, film, television and creative media industries. The book teases out commonalities between experiences that are evident across a number of countries, from Hollywood to Bollywood, as well as examining the differences between class, religion, maternal status and cultural frameworks that surround working mothers in various nation states. It also offers some possibilities for ways forward that can improve the lives of women workers who are also mothers. A timely and valuable contribution to international debates on equality, mothers and motherhood in audiovisual industries, this book will be of interest to scholars and students of media, communication, cultural studies and gender; programmes engaged with work inequalities and motherhood studies; and activists, funders, policymakers and practitioners.

Documentary

HerStory: Ireland's Epic Women is a six-part documentary series on RTÉ One television which tells the story of some of Ireland’s most remarkable pioneers in the fields of business, politics, science, the arts, aviation and technology.

Schedule

Social Media

Connect with MIC Library:

twitter logo instagram logo facebook logo Youtube logo

The First Graduates of Mary Immaculate College

Notable Irish Authors

Online Resources

The Women's Museum of Ireland, founded in 2012, aims to promote the formal recognition of the role of women in Irish history as well as the role of Irish women abroad.      

The Dictionary of Irish Biography features biographies of Irish women such as Constance Markievicz, political activist; Sybil Connolly, fashion designer; Mary Raftery, journalist and Kate O'Brien, novelist.

Drama Online is a digital library that offers play texts from new and established writers. It features plays dealing with feminism and feminist issues. 

Women Writers Online is a full-text collection of early women’s writing in English, published by the Women Writers Project at Northeastern University. It includes full transcriptions of texts published between 1526 and 1850, focusing on materials that are rare or inaccessible.

Feminist Studies was the first scholarly journal in women’s studies and remains a flagship publication with a record of breaking new ground in the field. It contains scholarly research, essays, art, book reviews, and poetry, fiction, and creative narrative pertaining to the feminist experience in the social sciences, history, politics, and literature.

United Nations: Learn about the history of International Women's Day.

MIC Library on Twitter