Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Here are some useful resources to help you on your study journey!
Write Great Essays! by
This book remains the book of choice for students with essays to write! How to read selectively How to take notes effectively How to understand the 'academic speak' in essay questions How to structure your work How to use and cite your sources accurately Peter Levin has comprehensively updated the book to incorporate student feedback and has included significantly more information on the kinds of material that are available online, and on coping with the attentions of the plagiarism police. The book clarifies all the key issues that students cite as blocks to the development of their writing skills and will help improve the grades of any student who takes the time to adopt the techniques offered. No student with essays to write should be without a copy!
Call Number: 808.02 LEV
Publication Date: 2009-11-01
The Good Writing Guide for Education Students by
Grappling with grammar? Worrying about referencing? This handy guide is packed with practical advice on how to search for reading materials, structure your academic writing, think critically, reference appropriately and use language effectively. 'Top Tips' throughout the book help eradicate all the common mistakes that bring your marks down. What′s new to the fourth edition? two brand new chapters on reading and writing critically activities at the end of each chapter to let you check and assess your own writing. With real life examples of academic work, and plenty of 'dos' and 'don′ts', this is the perfect writing manual for students studying at all levels, and the ideal book to help you get top marks for all your education course assignments. The Student Success series are essential guides for students of all levels. From how to think critically and write great essays to planning your dream career, the Student Success series helps you study smarter and get the best from your time at university.
Call Number: 808.042 WYS
Publication Date: 2017-08-04
Academic Writing by
Now in its fifth edition, Academic Writing helps international students succeed in writing essays and reports for their English-language academic courses. Thoroughly revised and updated, it is designed to let teachers and students easily find the topics they need, both in the classroom and for self-study. The book consists of five parts: The Writing Process Elements of Writing Language Issues Vocabulary for Writing Writing Models The first part explains and practises every stage of essay writing, from choosing the best sources, reading and note-making, through to referencing and proofreading. The four remaining parts, organised alphabetically, can be taught in conjunction with the first part or used on a remedial basis. A progress check at the end of each part allows students to assess their learning. All units are fully cross-referenced, and a complete set of answers to the practice exercises is included. New topics in this edition include Writing in Groups, Written British and American English, and Writing Letters and Emails. In addition, the new interactive website has a full set of teaching notes as well as more challenging exercises, revision material and links to other sources. Additional features of the book include: Models provided for writing tasks such as case studies and essays Use of authentic academic texts from a wide range of disciplines Designed for self-study as well as classroom use Useful at both undergraduate and postgraduate level Glossary to explain technical terms, plus index Written to deal with the specific language issues faced by international students, this practical, user-friendly book is an invaluable guide to academic writing in English.
Call Number: 808.0428 BAI
Publication Date: 2018-01-25
Doing a Literature Review by
The ultimate guide to the "what," "how," and "why" of literature reviewing, the Second Edition of the classic text shows how the literature review will unlock the full potential of one's research with: A thorough exploration of the literature review process from start to finish Two brand new chapters explaining the different types of review and evidence and evaluation Extended examples that show you how to apply key techniques and procedures A new "core skills" framework to help you turn your research experience into employability A critical thinking focus that will help you construct convincing arguments and improve your research decisions In combining a critical, philosophical approach with an expertly selected body of practical examples, the Second Edition of Chris Hart's landmark text provides both the intellectual understanding and the technical skills required to produce sophisticated, robust literature reviews of the very highest standard. SAGE Study Skills are essential study guides for students of all levels. From how to write great essays and succeeding at university, to writing your undergraduate dissertation and doing postgraduate research, SAGE Study Skills help you get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips, resources and videos on study success!
Call Number: 300.72 HAR
Publication Date: 2018-02-27
Your Dissertation in Education by
Are you struggling with your dissertation? Have you started too late and now you′re panicking? Help is here! Your Dissertation in Education is a straight-forward, plain English guide to doing and writing your project. It will take you from start to finish, with practical and friendly advice on every page. This second edition includes: A new Foundations section with the concepts and tools you need to get started An expanded guide to methodology and writing about methods A new chapter on mixed methods An essential companion on your dissertation journey, this book is ideal for students across education, including teacher training, early childhood and education studies. The Student Success series are essential guides for students of all levels. From how to think critically and write great essays to planning your dream career, the Student Success series helps you study smarter and get the best from your time at university.
Call Number: 808.066 BUC
Publication Date: 2016-04-18
Useful Writing Skills websites
Academic Writing Handbook
The purpose of this handbook, therefore, is to provide some guidance on writing for
learners who are engaged in programmes of learning equivalent to levels 5 and 6 on the
National Framework of Qualifications (NFQ). However, it is important to note that this
resource may also be a useful tool to other learners at other learning levels and may also
support teaching staff in structuring or approaching the teaching of writing skills.
The encyclopedia for writers, researchers, and knowledge workers
The Pomodoro Technique
For many people, time is an enemy. We race against the clock to finish assignments and meet deadlines. The Pomodoro® Technique teaches you to work with time, instead of struggling against it. A revolutionary time management system, it is at once deceptively simple to learn and life-changing to use.
Cornell Note-taking Method
The Cornell method provides a systematic format for condensing and organizing notes. This system of taking notes is designed for use by a high school or college level student.
The Ultimate Study Skills Handbook by
"The book itself covers everything university students need to know from exam revision and e-learning to work-life balance." The Bookseller "We would heartily recommend the book to students who are at the beginning of their studies." Maxine Fletcher, Lecturer, Oxford Brookes "This book's crammed full of very useful topics, information and exercises that I've never seen before, especially in the section on research, which I particularly liked." Joel, Student, Keele University Competition for graduate jobs has never been so fierce. The Ultimate Study Skills Handbook will help you succeed from the first week of your studies through to graduation. Covering all the core skills you will need to help you make the most of your university course, The Ultimate Study Skills Handbook is your key to success. This is the handbook of techniques, tips and exercises. Written by a team of experts and tested on students, the advice in this book will help you to improve your grades, save time and develop the skills that will make you stand out to prospective employers. Whichever subject you are studying, this practical and concise book will help you find your individual learning style and tell you exactly what you need to know to excel as a student: Working out the best way for you to learn Doing your research Presentations Revising for exams Improving your critical thinking skills Managing your time
Call Number: 378.17 MOO
Publication Date: 2010-04-01
The Study Skills Handbook by
This is the ultimate guide to study skills, written by million copy bestselling author Stella Cottrell. Her tried and tested approach, based on over twenty years' experience of working with students, has helped over a million students to achieve their potential. When it comes to studying, there is no one-size-fits-all approach. This engaging and accessible guide shows students how to tailor their learning to their individual needs in order to boost their grades, build their confidence and increase their employability. Fully revised for the fifth edition, it contains everything students need to succeed. This is an invaluable resource for undergraduate students of all disciplines, and is also ideal for postgraduates, mature students and international students. It prepares students for what to expect before, during and after their studies at university.
Call Number: 371.302 COT
Publication Date: 2019-03-18
The Good Study Guide by
Developing your learning skills is one of the best investments you can make. We all need to be lifelong learners now. Whether you are an experienced student or just starting out this book will stimulate, guide and support you. It will make you think about yourself and how your mind learns. And it will change forever the way that you study.Topics include:- motivating yourself and managing your time- taking full advantage of your computer- reading with concentration and understanding-
Call Number: 371.302 NOR
Publication Date: 2005
Useful Study Skills Websites
Study Skills Ireland
Study Skills Ireland is a unique online learning platform designed to dramatically increase our student’s educational potential.
How To Study
When you hit the books - and they hit back! Offering a wide variety of helpful study skills resources for students of any grade level.