Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Education Primary: Journals & Databases

Basic Searching on Summon

Advanced Searching on Summon

How to search a database

Databases we found

Education Source

This database provides scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals, and policy makers. It covers all levels of education — from early childhood to higher education — as well as all educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. 

ERIC

An education database, ERIC provides citations and some full-text of journal articles, conferences, reports and books. It covers a wide variety of subjects such as adult education, counselling, education management, tests, teacher education and special education. It is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education.

JSTOR

Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.

Irish Times

This newspaper database provides full-text coverage of the Irish Times from 1995 to the present. The Irish Times Digital Archive (1859-2018) is available to view here. Newspapers are a valuable resource for contemporary accounts and analysis of events.

Teachers TV (Education in Video)

An online collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. It contains teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms. Created by the UK's Department of Education between 2008-2011.

Enhanced Parliamentary Papers of Ireland (EPPI)

EPPI contains a complete set of British Parliamentary Papers relating to Ireland and Irish affairs published during the period of the Act of Union (1801-1922). The publications include bills, reports, commissions of inquiry, and the published census reports. It is a rich source for the social history of Ireland, as well as for statistics relating to population, emigration and other subjects.

Bridgeman Education

Contains over 300,000 images that can be used in the classroom. The images represent objects from museums, galleries and private collections. Media covered include photography, fine art, engravings, sculpture, architecture and the decorative arts.

Images can be saved onto a computer or can be used in an online slideshow. A user manual is also available.


Click here to search other Education databases.

How to find e-journals on a topic

Journals we found

Irish Educational Studies

Publlshes research on a range of topics by drawing on the full spectrum of disciplines that feed into educational theory and practice; this includes anthropology, sociology, psychology, history, economics, philosophy, politics and curriculum studies.

Classroom Discourse

Features research on language and education, specifically that which considers discourse and interaction in learning settings.

Child Development

Publishes original articles on all aspects of child development, from the prenatal period through adolescence.

The International Journal of Children's Rights

Covers critical scholarship and practical policy development in all fields relating to children's rights, including law, sociology, social work, health, education and psychiatry.

In touch / Irish National Teacher's Organisation

InTouch is published by the Irish National Teacher's Organisation.

Journal of Literacy Research

Features research related to literacy, language, and literacy and language education from preschool through adulthood.

Physical Education and Sport Pedagogy

Provides a forum for the dissemination of research in physical education.

Primary Science

Contains reference material and practical ideas for science primary teachers.

Research in Drama Education

Provides an international forum for research into drama and theatre conducted in community, educational, developmental and therapeutic contexts.

Studies in Art Education

Reports research in art education, including explorations of theory and practice in the areas of art production, art criticism, aesthetics, art history, human development, curriculum and instruction, and assessment.

Children's Literature in Education

Critical evaluation, analysis or commentary on social issues reflected in books, interviews with authors and illustrators and accounts of classroom practice and experience.

Primary Geography

Covers teaching topic ideas and information for the teachers of children ages 5-11. Please contact the library for the username and password. After logging in, select 'Primary Geography' under the Journals tab.

Reach: Journal of Special Needs Education in Ireland

Publishes articles about special needs education in Ireland.

Social Media

Connect with MIC Library:

twitter logo instagram logo facebook logo Youtube logo