Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Education Primary: Online Resources

Evaluating Information

These tips will help you evaluate the quality, accuracy and reliability of information you find on the Web.

Authority

  • Who wrote the page - where is the information coming from?
  • Is the author qualified to speak on the topic?
  • Is the site reputable?

Accuracy

  • Is the information Correct?
  • Can you verify the information from another source?
  • Are there references available to back up the author's claims?

Objectivity

  • Is the purpose of the website to inform you?
  • Is it promoting or selling something?
  • Is it biased?

Currency

  • When was the site last updated?
  • How current are the links – have some expired or moved?

‚ÄčCoverage

  • What topics are covered on the site?
  • Is the information on the site well presented?
  • Is special software required to view the page or is it fee based?

Useful Websites

Department of Education and Skills

Provides information on a range of services and initiatives provided by the department for the whole education sector.  It explains the work of different sections in the department and how they can be contacted.

Scoilnet - Resources for teachers

Scoilnet is the Department of Education and Skills (DES) official portal for Irish education.

Primary School Curriculum

Contains digital copies of the Irish Primary School Curriculum.

Mathematics Resources

The MIC STEM Education department's collection of mathematic resources which have been developed from Lesson Study research carried out in classrooms in local schools.

MathsEduc

Resource with useful links on teaching maths.

Online Resources for Music Education

A list of online music resources compiled by Mary Immaculate College.

Teachnet

TeachNet Ireland’s goal is to encourage Irish teachers at both primary and second levels to develop and publish quality indigenous curriculum content on the World Wide Web. Established in 2001 and hosted by St. Patrick’s DCU, Drumcondra, the TeachNet portal includes over 300 teacher generated projects.

STER E-Journal

Student Teacher Educational Research (STER) is an Irish Higher Education partnership project that supports education students to share their dissertation research with the wider education community. All articles in the STER e-journal are written by students and showcase the key findings of students' final year research projects. 

Children's Poetry Archive

The Children's Poetry Archive is dedicated to poetry written for children. It contains recordings of poets reading their own work out loud. There are also exercises and activities for writing, performing and listening to poems.

Talking about Theatre - Imaginate

Talking about Theatre is an interactive online resource developed in partnership with Education Scotland‘s Co-Create project, which can help teachers deliver interactive lessons in performance art evaluation. The resource supports pupils in critically analysing a performance they have seen. 

Special Education Support Service 

Resources, publications and advice from the Special Education Support Service (SESS), which aims to enhance the quality of learning and teaching in relation to special education provision.

The SESS facilitates a partnership approach to providing continuing professional development for teachers.

Schooldays - Parenting and School Resources

Schooldays.ie provides information and support to parents & teachers throughout the school years, from pre-school through to the primary and secondary years.

Eurydice - European Information Network

The mission of the Eurydice network is to provide those responsible for education systems and policies in Europe with European-level analyses and information which will assist them in their decision making.

Social Media

Connect with MIC Library:

twitter logo instagram logo facebook logo Youtube logo