Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Philosophy: Journals & Databases

Basic Searching on Summon

Advanced Searching on Summon

How to search a database

Databases we found

Project Muse

A multi-disciplinary database, Project Muse covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science and gender studies.

Routledge Encycopedia of Philosophy

The Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy Online (REP Online) is the largest and most comprehensive resource available for all those involved in the study of philosophy. It is full-text, covering Anglo-American, ethical and political, cross-cultural, interdisciplinary, continental and contemporary philosophy.

Blackwell Reference Online

Provides the full-text of reference books published by Blackwell. Subjects covered include the history of philosophy, metaphysics, philosophy of mind,19th and 20th Century philosophy, and Wittgenstein.

Oxford Reference Online

Contains dictionaries and subject reference works such as A Dictionary of Logic and The Oxford Companion to Philosophy.

Philosopher's Index

This bibliographic database offers informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology and book reviews.

How to find e-journals on a topic

Journals we found

Philosophy

Contains significant articles in the field of philosophy; also serves the philosophical interests of specialists in other fields and those of the general reader.

American Catholic Philosophical Quarterly

Features scholarly articles, topical discussions, and book reviews dealing with all philosophical areas and approaches.

Journal of Applied Philosophy

Provides a forum for philosophical research which seeks to make a constructive contribution to problems of practical concern.

Journal of the British Society for Phenomenology

Features papers on phenomenology and existential philosophy as well as contributions from other fields of philosophy.

Philosophy and Literature

Addresses fresh perspectives to two modes of inquiry through its effective interdisciplinary approach to the study of major literary and philosophical texts.

Think: Philosophy for Everyone

Covers contemporary philosophy and writing by philosophers pre-eminent in their fields.


Click here to search for a specific journal or to browse the full collection of journals.

Social Media

Connect with MIC Library:

twitter logo instagram logo facebook logo Youtube logo