Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Learning and Study Skills
How to Write Your Undergraduate Dissertation by
Publication Date: 2014-08-13
Writing a dissertation is like running a marathon: a successful one takes months of careful planning and preparation. This practical guide takes undergraduate students step-by-step through the process of completing a dissertation, from the initial stages of generating original ideas and planning the project through to writing their first draft and critically reviewing their own work.
The Study Skills Book by
Publication Date: 2012-10-23
Is there a secret to successful study? The answer is ‘yes’! There are some essential skills and smart strategies that will help you to improve your results at university. nbsp; Using proven techniques and tips to help you focus your efforts and develop successful study skills and strategies, THE STUDY SKILLS BOOK provides practical answers to questions such as: What do lecturers expect from you in a tutorial?
The Study Skills Handbook by
Publication Date: 2008-04-01
This title introduces higher-level study skills and allows students to develop a deeper understanding of the learning process itself, encouraging a reflective and well-informed approach to study.
The Ultimate Study Skills Handbook by
Publication Date: 2010-04-01
"The book itself covers everything university students need to know from exam revision and e-learning to work-life balance." The Bookseller "We would heartily recommend the book to students who are at the beginning of their studies." Maxine Fletcher, Lecturer, Oxford Brookes "This book's crammed full of very useful topics, information and excerises.
The Mature Student's Handbook by
Publication Date: 2009-04-21
A practical guide allowing mature students to build on their strengths and overcome challenges. Includes worked examples, exercises and space for recording strategies and successes. Covers areas such as lectures, seminars, reading and note-taking, presentations, writing, exams, time management, finance and careers.
Learning & Study Skills
Critical Thinking Skills for Education Students by
Publication Date: 2013-06-17
Revised and extended to cover critical reflection and evaluation of information resources, this new edition of Critical Thinking Skills for Education Students is a practical and user-friendly text to help education students develop their understanding of critical analysis. It outlines the skills needed to examine and challenge data and encourages students to adopt this way of thinking to enrich their personal and professional development. The text helps students to develop their self-evaluation skills in order to recognise personal values and perceptions.
How to Write Better Essays by
Publication Date: 2013-04-10
This indispensable guide takes students through each step of the essay writing process, enabling them to tackle written assignments with confidence. Students will develop their ability to analyse complex concepts, evaluate and critically engage with arguments, communicate their ideas clearly and concisely and generate more ideas of their own. Chapters are short and succinct and cover topics such as reading purposefully, note-taking, essay writing in exams and avoiding plagiarism. Packed with practical activities and handy hints which students can apply to their own writing, this is an ideal resource for students looking to improve the quality and clarity of their academic writing. This book will be a source of guidance and inspiration for students of all disciplines and levels who need to write essays as part of their course.
The Student's Guide to Writing by
Publication Date: 2012-07-31
Aimed at students wishing to improve their writing skills, this guide deals with the key basics of grammar, punctuation and spelling while also showing students how to construct a sentence, how to build a paragraph and how to structure an essay. This third edition includes an expanded 'Spot the Mistake' section.
Getting Critical by
Publication Date: 2014-06-30
This concise, no-nonsense guide shows students how to adopt a critical approach in order to unlock their academic potential. It explains why students need to be critical and provides practical advice on how they can integrate critical analysis into their research, reading and writing. Each succinct chapter is visually engaging and informative, and gives students the support they need to succeed in applying critical thinking to their work. It is an invaluable resource for all students who are required to write essays, reports and other pieces of extended writing as part of their course. It is also an ideal text to be used in conjunction with study skills programmes and critical thinking modules at HE and FE level.
Doing Your Research Project by
Publication Date: 1999-08-01
Since it was first published in the late 1980s, Doing Your Research Project has become something of a bible for first-time researchers in social science. This third edition reflects advances in technology and methodology and positions the book to support researchers in the 21st century. However, the book's formula remains essentially the same because of its unmatched ability to deliver two key benefits: it enables students to get through their first research projects successfully and without wasting lots of time in trial and error; and in the process, it helps students to develop sound techniques and good practice which will serve them well in future research projects.