Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Theatre Studies: Journals & Databases

Basic Searching on Summon

Advanced Searching on Summon

How to search a database

Databases we found

Drama Online

Drama Online offers full text plays from new and established writers together with scholarly notes, annotated texts, critical analysis. Please note the MIC subscription does not include audio or video content.

Performing Arts Periodicals Database

This database contains articles on dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television, amongst others. 

Classic Irish Plays

Provides access to scripts by the great Irish playwrights whose work has entered - or partially entered - the public domain.

Lion

Literature Online runs from the 8th Century to the 21st Century. It provides access to over a third of a million full-text works of poetry, prose and drama in English.

Project Muse

Multi-disciplinary in nature, this full-text database covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts in addition to other disciplines.

Irish Film & TV Research Online

A website designed to bring together the wide diversity of research material relating to Irish-made cinema and television as well as to Irish-themed audio-visual representations produced outside of Ireland.

Oxford Reference Online

This database contains subject reference works and dictionaries on performing arts such as The Concise Oxford Companion to the Theatre and The Oxford Dictionary of Plays

How to find e-journals on a topic

Journals we found

Applied Theatre Research

Focuses on drama, theatre and performance with specific audiences or participants in a range of social contexts and locations.

New Theatre Quarterly

This journal publishes news, analysis and debate within the field of theatre studies.

Text and Performance Quarterly

Text and Performance Quarterly publishes original scholarship that explores and advances the study of performance as a communicative, critical, social practice.

Contemporary Theatre Review 

Contemporary Theatre Review is a peer-reviewed journal of theatre and performance studies, whch publishes the best research on a broad spectrum of performance practices – including mainstream theatre, drama, performance histories; live art and performance art; dance theatre; digital performance; sound; and performative social and applied practices.

Theatre Journal

This journal features social and historical studies, production reviews, and theoretical inquiries that analyze dramatic texts and production.

Times Literary Supplement

TLS provides a unique record of developments in literature, politics, scholarship and the arts, and brings a unique seriousness to bear on the major intellectual debates of our time. Please contact the library for the username and password.

Irish Arts Review

Discusses Irish visual and decorative arts from pre-history to the present.


Click here to search for a specific journal or to browse the full collection of journals.

Social Media

Connect with MIC Library:

twitter logo instagram logo facebook logo Youtube logo