Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Autism Studies: Journals & Databases

Basic Searching on Summon

Advanced Searching on Summon

How to search a database

Databases we found

Education Source

This database provides scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals, and policy makers. It covers all levels of education — from early childhood to higher education — as well as all educational specialties such as special education, multilingual education and health education.

ERIC

An education database, ERIC provides citations and some full-text of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, reports and books. It is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education.

BMJ Best Practice

BMJ Best Practice is an evidence-based clinical decision support tool at the point of care. The theory, diagnosis and management of autism as well as some resources are included. 

JSTOR

JSTOR offers multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections that include complete runs of journals. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.

Teachers TV (Education in Video)

An online collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. It contains teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms. Created by the UK's Department of Education between 2008-2011.

Proquest Dissertations and Theses UK and Ireland

Search within this database to find abstracts accepted for higher degrees by universities in the United Kingdom and Ireland. 

How to find e-journals on a topic

Journals we found

Journal of Autism & Developmental Disorders

Covers all aspects of autism spectrum disorders and related developmental disabilities.

Autism Research and Treatment

Provides information about research related to all aspects of autism and includes case reports and clinical studies.

Autism: The International Journal of Research and Practice

Provides a major new international forum for research of direct and practical relevance to improving the quality of life for individuals with autism or autism-related disorders.

Communication Disorders Quarterly

Discusses many aspects of communication disorders: speech, hearing, language, and learning disabilities.

Education and Training in Autism and Developmental Disabilities

Publishes research into the theory and methodology of teaching students with severe developmental disabilities.

Exceptional Children 

Original research on the education and development of exceptional infants, toddlers, children and youth and articles on professional issues of concern to special educators made on the basis of blind peer review.

Focus on Autism and other Developmental Disabilities

Focus on Autism and Other Developmental Disabilities (FOCUS) offers practical educational and treatment suggestions for teachers, trainers, and parents of persons with autism or other pervasive developmental disabilities. 

Good Autism Practice

Contains articles dedicated to promoting good practice with children and adults suffering from autism and Asperger's syndrome.

Social Media

Connect with MIC Library:

twitter logo instagram logo facebook logo Youtube logo