LibGuides: Business Studies: Learning &amp; Study Skills

How to study

The Study Skills Handbook
AVAILABLE ONLINE
When it comes to studying, there is no one-size-fits-all approach. This engaging and accessible guide shows students how to tailor their learning to their individual needs in order to boost their grades, build their confidence and increase their employability.
Ace That test: A Student's Guide To Learning Better
AVAILABLE ONLINE
This new book reveals the effective study strategies that will help you to use your time more efficiently, ace your tests, and retain information over time.
Study Skills Essentials
Drawing on the experience of twenty Oxford graduates, Study Skills Essentials gives an extremely useful insight into the study and exam techniques that work in the real world.

Research Methods Database

Sage Research Methods is a database that supports beginning and advanced researchers in every step of a research project, from writing a research question, choosing a method, gathering and analyzing data, to writing up and publishing the findings.

CONTENT
Access to books, articles, instructional videos and podcasts covering different types of research methods.

TOOLS

The Project Planner provides step-by-step guidance for completing your research project
The Methods Map is a visualization tool that demonstrates how methods are related and connects users to relevant content
Which Stats Test can help you to choose which statistical method is best for your data by answering a series of multiple-choice questions

Useful shelfmark numbers

Topic	Shelfmark number	Where in the library?
Research methods	001.42	Ground floor
Research methods in the social sciences	300.72	First floor
Research methods in education	370.72	Ground floor
General study skills	378	Ground floor
Academic writing / how to write a dissertation	808.042	First floor
Referencing styles	808.027	First floor
The Literature student's survival kit	809.891821 LIT	First floor

How to read and write more effectively

How to Use Your Reading in Your Essays
Concise and practical, this book breaks down the 'why' and 'how' of using reading in academic writing and contains valuable guidance on paraphrasing, comparing the views of different authors and commenting on sources.
The Student Phrase Book
Featuring over 2,000 words common to most academic disciplines, it will help students to expand their vocabulary, understand how these words are used and spot mistakes in their own academic writing. Units present the words in full sentences, enabling users to see exactly how they are used, and also include additional information on context, connotation and collocations.
How To Write Better Essays
This indispensable guide takes students through each step of the essay writing process, enabling them to tackle written assignments with confidence.
The Student's Guide To Writing
Aimed at students wishing to improve their writing skills, this guide deals with the key basics of grammar, punctuation and spelling while also showing students how to construct a sentence, how to build a paragraph and how to structure an essay.
Grammar: a friendly approach
This book introduces grammar in a gentle way by illustrating the kinds of issues students may come across by setting them in context using a soap opera style script. Through a combination of the stories of the students and carefully constructed chapters, the book provides details on the essential aspects of grammar, language use and punctuation needed by all university students.

How to think critically

Getting Critical
This concise, no-nonsense guide shows students how to adopt a critical approach in order to unlock their academic potential. It explains why students need to be critical and provides practical advice on how they can integrate critical analysis into their research, reading and writing.
Critical Thinking Skills: Developing Effective Analysis And Argument
Critical Thinking Skills has taken the seemingly baffling art of analysis and broken it down into easy to understand blocks, with clear explanations, good examples, and plenty of activities to develop understanding at each stage.

How to manage your time

Eat that Frog!: Get More of the Important Things Done Today
21 great ways to stop procrastinating and get more done in less time

Popular study methods

Pomodoro Time Management Technique A technique to help you manage your time and maintain your focus
The Cornell Note Taking System A method of recording, organizing and using the notes you take in in class or from your textbook or readings

Resources for doing research

How To Write Your Undergraduate Dissertation
This work teaches students how to generate their own ideas and develop them into original research projects. Using examples from all disciplines, it teaches students how to construct arguments and use evidence and language consistently.
Successful Qualitative Research: A Practical Guide For Beginners
The authors walk students through a basic thematic approach, and compare and contrast this with other approaches.
This textbook will be an essential textbook for undergraduates and postgraduates taking a course in qualitative research or using qualitative approaches in a research project.
The Literature Review: Six Steps To Success
Updated with technology tips and new graphics, this bestseller takes readers through the entire literature review process in six steps, from selecting a topic to writing the review.
Little Quick Fix: Research Question
Zina O'Leary's 'Research Question' teaches you how to find your interest, hone it to a topic, and turn it into a research question that is relevant, interesting and researchable.

Looking after your wellbeing

Be Well, Learn Well: improve your wellbeing and academic performance
Be Well, Learn Well begins by considering the impact of factors such as diet, exercise, hydration, sleep and sunlight on learning, before examining how 'deep' learning can improve wellbeing. Subsequent chapters help students create meaningful connections with their studies, build motivation and approach exams, presentations and group projects with confidence.

Studying with dyslexia

Dyslexia at College
The authors offer practical advice for dyslexic students and their teachers on how to make the most of the college experience.

Business Studies: Learning & Study Skills

Introduction

Here is a selection of books which cover topics such as studying, academic writing, critical thinking, taking lecture notes, managing your time and more.