LibGuides: Religion Thurles: Journal Articles & Databases

Key Databases for Theology and Religion

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text access to over 8,500 journals (7,300 peer-reviewed) across a broad range of subjects, including the social sciences and the humanities. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals.
(IReL Resource)
Alternative access available: here.
ACLS Humanities eBook This link opens in a new window
A collection of around 5,000 full text monographs of high quality in the humanities offered by the American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS).
This resource allows users to search full text across all titles in the database, in selected titles, or in a single title, by author and title as well as by Library of Congress subject headings.
(IReL Resource)
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window
ATLA Religion Database is a bibliographic database indexing nearly 2000 periodical titles in religion and theology. Coverage is from 1949 to the present.
ATLAS is an online full-text collection of major religion and theology journals used by libraries, librarians, scholars, students, and religious leaders.
Alternative access available: here.
Cambridge Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to over 360 journals across the sciences, social sciences and humanities.
(IReL Resource)
Alternative access available: here
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
Contains digital images of every page of 150,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides in all subjects printed between 1701 and 1800.
ECCO is a digitization of the eighteenth-century section of the works catalogued in the English Short-title Catalogue (ESTC). The ESTC project has been recording all works published or printed in Britain, Ireland, territories under British colonial rule, and the United States.
Alternative access available: here
Routledge Encycopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Full-text, covering Anglo-American, ethical and political, cross-cultural, interdisciplinary, continental and contemporary philosophy.
(IReL Resource)
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. JSTOR offers multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections that include complete runs of journals as well as select monographs, transactions, and conference proceedings. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
(IReL Resource)
JSTOR is not a current issues database. Because of JSTOR's archival mission, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.
For list of subjects :http://www.jstor.org/subjects
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a freely accessible search engine. It searches scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources and connects to library-subscribed resources.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Over 500 journals in the fields of business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology and medicine.
(IReL Resource)

SUMMON

Summon is a search engine that searches all the articles and databases that the library has access to, as well as searching the library catalogue. Use it to find great articles for your assignments.

SUMMON