Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Geography: Journals & Databases

Basic Searching on Summon

Advanced Searching on Summon

How to search a database

Databases we have found

Dictionaries

Oxford Reference Online

Contains subject reference works and dictionaries such as A Dictionary of Geography and A Dictionary of Human Geography.

Journals and articles

Academic Search Complete

A large, multidisciplinary database, which includes some coverage of physical and human geography.

GeoscienceWorld

A database of journals and books in the earth sciences. Tip: to help you with your search, a list of thesaurus terms are provided under the GeoRef tab at the top of the page.

GreenFILE 

A research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources. Consists of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports.

ScienceDirect

Full text of more than 2,000 Elsevier journals in the life, physical, medical, technical and social sciences.

Policy

ESRI Reports

Contains publications by the Economic and Social Research Institute of Ireland which aims to inform policy in Ireland. Covers a wide range of topics including education, health, housing, industrial development and social disadvantage.

Newspapers 

Irish Times

Issues available from 1995 to the present. The Irish Times digital archive (1859-2018) is available here. Newspapers are a valuable resource for contemporary accounts and analysis of events.

To search other local, national and international newspapers, click here.

Research methods

Sage Research Methods

This database supports beginning and advanced researchers in every step of a research project, from writing a research question, choosing a method, gathering and analysing data, to writing up and publishing the findings.

The library has access to the following two collections:

Sage Research Methods Cases Part 1 contains 600+ cases. You can click on the link 'Learn about using cases' on the left-hand side to browse the cases by method (e.g. survey research or qualitative interviewing), by discipline or by academic level (e.g. introductory undergraduate level, advanced undergraduate level or by postgraduate level)

SRM Video: Practical Research & Academic Skills develops the practical skills necessary to conduct successful research with this collection of streaming video.

Statistics

World Development Indicators

A collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognised international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and local estimates.  Topics include agriculture and food security, climate change, social development and urban development.


Click here to search other Geography databases.

How to find e-journals on a topic

Journals we have found

Human Geography

Economic Geography

Publishes research that deepens the understanding of geographical drivers and implications of economic processes on the economy and society

Journal of Historical Geography

Addresses all aspects of historical geography

Political Geography

Contains information for students of political studies with an interest in the geographical or spatial aspects of their subject

Progress in Human Geography

The peer-review journal of choice for those wanting to know about the state of the art in all areas of human geography research - philosophical, theoretical, thematic, methodological or empirical

Urban Geography

Covers papers on problem-oriented current research by geographers and other social scientists on urban policy, race, poverty, and ethnicity in the city

Physical Geography

Biology and Environment

Publishes biological and environmental research on topics of Irish interest

Irish Journal of Earth Sciences

Publishes original research and review articles on Irish Earth science topics

Progress in Physical Geography

Provides an international forum for geographical work in the natural and environmental sciences

Human & Physical Geography

Irish Geography

Irish Geography is the leading peer-reviewed international journal on the geography of Ireland

Teaching Geography 

The Geographical Association’s journal for all secondary and college teachers. Please contact the Library for the username & password


You can search for a specific journal or browse the full collection of Geography journals here

Social Media

Connect with MIC Library:

twitter logo instagram logo facebook logo Youtube logo