Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Education ECCE: Journals & Databases

Basic Searching on Summon

Advanced Searching on Summon

How to search a database

Databases we found

Education Source

This database provides scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals, and policy makers. It covers all levels of education — from early childhood to higher education — as well as all educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.

Academic Search Complete

Full text access to over 8,500 journals (7,300 peer-reviewed) across a broad range of subjects, including the social sciences and the humanities. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals.

ERIC

ERIC provides citations and some full-text of journal articles, conferences and reports about early childhood and preschool education. This database is sponsored by the US Department of Education.

JSTOR

JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. JSTOR offers multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections that include complete runs of journals as well as select monographs, transactions, and conference proceedings. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.

British Education Index

A database for identifying journal articles and conference reports in the field of education (UK journals). It has particular strengths in educational policy, administration, assessment, evaluation, and special educational needs. It indexes and provides abstracts of journal articles from over 300 journals.

How to find e-journals on a topic

Journals we found

Early Childhood Research Quarterly

Provides information for scholars, researchers, practitioners, parents, and others interested in scholarly treatment of issues and concerns.

Education 3-13

Focuses on stimulating ways of teaching rather than relying on a series of tips.

Child Development

Publishes original articles on all aspects of child development, from the prenatal period through adolescence.

Early Child Development and Care

Serves psychologists, educators and other professionals who deal with research, planning, education and care of infants and young children

Educational and Child Psychology

Provides peer-reviewed coverage relevant to the work of applied psychologists involved in work relating to the education and psychological well-being of children and young people.

European Early Childhood: Education Research Journal

Provides a forum for ideas on early childhood education in Europe.

International Journal of Early Childhood

The International Journal of Early Childhood (IJEC) provides an important voice for research with young children and children’s early education and care, across various social and cultural contexts, with a focus on children aged from birth to 8 years.

International Journal of Play

It aims to provide an international forum for scholarly debate on all aspects of play theory, policy and practice.

YC Young Children

Directed to early childhood educators who use research and theory for classroom practice.

Social Media

Connect with MIC Library:

twitter logo instagram logo facebook logo Youtube logo