Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music: Online Resources

Evaluating Information

These tips will help you evaluate the quality, accuracy and reliability of information you find on the Web.

Authority

  • Who wrote the page - where is the information coming from?
  • Is the author qualified to speak on the topic?
  • Is the site reputable?

Accuracy

  • Is the information Correct?
  • Can you verify the information from another source?
  • Are there references available to back up the author's claims?

Objectivity

  • Is the purpose of the website to inform you?
  • Is it promoting or selling something?
  • Is it biased?

Currency

  • When was the site last updated?
  • How current are the links – have some expired or moved?

‚ÄčCoverage

  • What topics are covered on the site?
  • Is the information on the site well presented?
  • Is special software required to view the page or is it fee based?

Useful Websites

The Journal of Music

The Journal of Music is an award-winning Irish music magazine. It covers a wide range of music by Irish and international musicians, from contemporary to folk and from classical to opera. It includes album reviews, articles, podcasts and music news from the UK and the US.

Sheet Music Consortium

The Sheet Music Consortium is a group of libraries working toward the goal of building an open collection of digitized sheet music. They provide tools and services that promote access to and use of online sheet music collections by scholars, students and the general public. 

The Great 78 Project

A collection of 78 rpm records and cylinder recordings released in the early 20th century. The Great 78 Project is a community project for the preservation, research and discovery of 78rpm records, which were released in the early 20th century. From about 1898 to the 1950s, an estimated 3 million sides (~3 minute recordings) have been made on 78rpm discs. These recordings were contributed to the Archive by users through the Open Source Audio collection.

Musopen

Provides recordings, sheet music, and textbooks to the public for free, without copyright restrictions.

A YouTube channel with recordings and score videos of modern compositions.

The Fleischmann Diaries

This UCC digitisation project provides access to the 1926 and 1927 diaries of the German-born Irish composer Aloys Fleischmann (1910-1992).

Broadside Ballads Online

Broadside Ballads Online presents a digital collection of English printed ballad-sheets from between the 16th and 20th centuries, linked to other resources for the study of the English ballad tradition.

8 Notes

Provides free sheet music and lessons.

Social Media

Connect with MIC Library:

twitter logo instagram logo facebook logo Youtube logo