Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music: Journals & Databases

Basic Searching on Summon

Advanced Searching on Summon

How to search a database

Databases we found

Music Periodicals Database

This database offers access to over 600 international music periodicals, of which 140 are full text, including complete runs of over 54 important titles. Covered topics are: music education, musicology, music theory, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, classical music, opera, jazz, pop culture, popular music forms and composition.

Oxford Music Online

The authoritative resource for music research. It charts the diverse history and cultures of music around the globe. It is also the gateway to Grove Music Online, with access to search The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music.

Naxos Music Library

Naxos Music Library is the world´s largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 155,391 CDs with more than 2,411,564 tracks of both standard and rare repertoire.

SMI Music Theses Register

The SMI Music Theses Register is an open-access searchable database of postgraduate theses in the fields of musicology, ethnomusicology, music education, music technology, music therapy, performance, analysis, composition, etc.

Irish Traditional Music Archive

ITMA’s mission is to be the national public archive and resource centre for Irish traditional music, song and dance, and the globally-recognised specialist advisory agency to advance appreciation, knowledge, and the practice of Irish traditional music.

How to find e-journals on a topic

Journals we found

Journal of Musicology

Covers articles in every period, field and methodology of musicological scholarship.

New Soundtrack

Covers current developments in sound and moving images, such as sound installations, computer-based delivery, and the psychology of the interaction of image and sound. Includes academic and professional contributions from recognized practitioners in the field, including composers, sound designers and directors.

19th Century Music

Covers all aspects of Western art music between the mid-eighteenth and mid-twentieth centuries.

Ethnomusicology

Explores the music of people throughout the world.

Music Analysis

International forum for the presentation of new writing focused on musical works and repertories.

Music Theory Spectrum

Features the best work in music theory and analysis, including aesthetics, history of theory, post-tonal theory, critical theory, linear analysis, rhythm, and music cognition.

British Journal of Music Education

Covers classroom music teaching, individual instrumental teaching and group teaching, and music in higher education.


Click here to search for a specific journal or to browse the full collection of journals.

Social Media

Connect with MIC Library:

twitter logo instagram logo facebook logo Youtube logo