Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Autism Studies: Online Resources

Evaluating Information

These tips will help you evaluate the quality, accuracy and reliability of information you find on the Web.

Authority

  • Who wrote the page - where is the information coming from?
  • Is the author qualified to speak on the topic?
  • Is the site reputable?

Accuracy

  • Is the information Correct?
  • Can you verify the information from another source?
  • Are there references available to back up the author's claims?

Objectivity

  • Is the purpose of the website to inform you?
  • Is it promoting or selling something?
  • Is it biased?

Currency

  • When was the site last updated?
  • How current are the links – have some expired or moved?

‚ÄčCoverage

  • What topics are covered on the site?
  • Is the information on the site well presented?
  • Is special software required to view the page or is it fee based?

Useful Websites

Irish Society for Autism

Founded in 1963, the Irish Society for Autism is the longest established dedicated organisation for people with Autism in Ireland. Contains some research studies.

National Council for Special Education

The National Council for Special Education (NCSE) was set up to improve the delivery of education services to persons with special educational needs arising from disabilities with particular emphasis on children. 

Lenus

Lenus, the Irish Health Research repository is the leading source for Irish research in health and social care.  The Lenus collections include peer reviewed journal articles, grey literature, dissertations, reports and conference presentations. Lenus contains the publications of the Irish Health Service Executive (HSE) and the collected research output of over 130 health organisations past and present are all freely accessible.

MIRR

Mary Immaculate College's Research Repository and Digital Archive - student's can access the digital archive collections as well as published and unpublished works of faculty and researchers at Mary Immaculate College. Information an autism can be accessed in this database of academic and postgraduate material.

Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD)

This American website brings together research reports, academic articles and expert information on autism in a coherent and comprehensive manner.

Social Media

Connect with MIC Library:

twitter logo instagram logo facebook logo Youtube logo