| SUBJECT | |
| Level Two | |
| 430 | German Language & Grammar |
| 431 | Writing Systems, Phonology & Phonetics |
| 432 | Etymology |
| 433 | Dictionaries |
| 435 | German Grammar |
| 830 | German Literature |
| 831 | Poetry |
| 832 | Drama |
| 833 |
Fiction |
| 900 | History & Geography |
| 943 | German History |
The Inter-Library Loans service is a way for current students and staff of MIC Limerick and MIC Thurles to obtain research material which is not held in our college libraries or the University of Limerick Library. This service is available to:
Contact ILL at ill@mic.ul.ie
Phantastik by
Das Phantastische in Kunst, Literatur, Film, Musik und Alltagskultur. Das interdisziplinäre Handbuch nimmt die unterschiedlichen methodischen Zugänge zur Phantastik und deren intermediale Vielfalt in den Blick. Ebenso dargestellt wird die historische Entwicklung in verschiedenen Sprachkreisen: vom Englischen, Französischen und Deutschen bis zur skandinavischen, slawischen und iberischen Tradition. Eine Reihe von Einträgen widmet sich typischen Themen, Motiven (wie z. B. Feen, Zeitreise) sowie poetischen und poetologischen Schlüsselkonzepten.
Pocket Oxford German Dictionary by
Authoritative and up-to-date, the new fourth edition of the Pocket Oxford German Dictionary covers over 90,000 words and phrases, and 120,000 translations of contemporary German and English. Hundreds of new words from German and English have been added from computing and technology to healthand lifestyle, based on findings from Oxford's English and German language Reading Programmes.More than just a dictionary, this handy reference book also includes extensive sections on grammar, culture, and communication giving you the tools you need to communicate effectively and understand aspects of another culture. The grammar supplement provides full information on key points of Germangrammar, including verb tables for quick reference. The section on culture offers lively and useful information on life in the German-speaking world, covering everything from political institutions to how weddings are celebrated. The communication supplement gives help with all types ofcorrespondence, including example letters, emails, CVs and resumes, and a guide to text messaging. Also new to this edition is a brand-new section on the internet and online services.The Pocket Oxford German Dictionary is the perfect reference for student and adult learners needing an affordable, portable dictionary.
Books on German Studies are held on Level 2 (430, 830 and 900).
The map below shows the layout of the library and the location of each collection. Click on it to enlarge it.
The Shelfmark box on the left will also help you find what you are looking for.
The Library offers a Click & Collect service alongside our normal borrowing service.
How does Click and Collect work?
1. Order your books through Summon and your Library Account Online (See our How to Use Library Services Guide for an instructional video on how to request books)
2. Wait for the library to email you that your book is ready for collection
3. Come to the Library Reception to collect your book
Borrowing Rules
Undergraduate students can borrow up to 20 items
Postgraduate students and staff can borrow up to 28 items
Loan periods is 1 week but will be auto-renewed for 12 weeks (Exception is 1 day loans)
Exception: if an item is requested by another user it should be returned within 3 days or a €1 fine per day will apply
For more information, please click here.
In the Library Catalogue type in the author and/or the title into the search box.
Choose an option:
Features of Ebooks:
Modeling motherhood in Weimar Germany political and psychological discourses in women's writing by 
The history of German literature on film by 
The Right to Difference by
The Right to Difference examines novels that depict human rights violations in order to explore causes of intergroup violence within diverse societies, using Germany as a test case. In these texts, the book shows that an exaggeration of difference between minority and majority groups leads to violence. Germany has become increasingly diverse over the past decades due to skilled labor migration and refugee movements. In light of this diversity, this book's approach transcends a divide between migrant and post-migrant German literature on the one hand and a national literature on the other hand. Addressing competing definitions of national identity as well as the contest between cultural homogeneity and diversity, the author redefines the term "intercultural literature." It becomes not a synonym for authors who do not belong to a national literature, such as migrant writers, but a way of reading literature with an intercultural lens. This book builds a theory of intercultural literature that focuses on the multifaceted nature of identity, in which ethnicity represents only one of many characteristics defining individuals. To develop intercultural competence, one needs to adopt a complex image of individuals that allows for commonalities and differences by complicating the notion of sharp contrasts between groups. Revealing the affective allegiances formed around other characteristics (gender, profession, personal motivations, relationships, and more) allows for similarities that grouping into large, homogeneous, and seemingly exclusive entities conceals. Eight novels analyzed in this book remember and reveal human rights violations, such as genocide, internment and torture, violent expulsion, the reasons for fleeing a country, dangerous flight routes and the difficulty of settling in a new country. Some of these novels allow for affective identification with diverse characters and cast the protagonists as individuals with plural perspectives and identities rather than monolithic members of one large national or ethnic group, whereas others emphasize the commonalities of all people. Ultimately, the author makes the case for German Studies to contribute to an antiracist approach to diversity by redefining what it means to be German and establishing difference as a fundamental human right
Revisioning Red Riding Hood Around the World by
Across various time periods, audiences, aesthetics, and cultural landscapes, Little Red Riding Hood is a universal icon, and her story is one of the world's most retold tales. In "Revisioning Red Riding Hood Around the World: An Anthology of International Retellings, " Sandra L. Beckett presents over fifty notable modern retellings, only two of which have appeared previously in English. The tales include works published in twenty-four countries and sixteen languages, in texts that span more than a century, but with the majority written in the last fifty years. They include retellings for children, adolescents, and adults, as well as crossover works intended for an audience of all ages. The tales in this volume progress from works that recast the story of Little Red Riding Hood from traditional perspectives through more playful versions to more unconventional approaches. Seven sections are arranged thematically: Cautionary Tales for Modern Riding Hoods, Contemporary Riding Hoods Come of Age, Playing with the Story of Red Riding Hood and the Wolf, Rehabilitating the Wolf, The Wolf's Story, The Wolf Within, and Running with the Wolves. Beckett provides an interpretative introduction to each text and insightful information on its author and/or illustrator. A variety of genres are represented, including fairy tale, short story, novella, novel, poetry, illustrated books, and picture books. More than 90 illustrations, both color plates and black-and-white images, reveal further narrative layers of meaning. The number and diversity of retellings in "Revisioning Red Riding Hood "demonstrate the tale's remarkable versatility and its exceptional status in the collective unconscious and in literary culture, even beyond the confines of the Western world. This unique anthology contributes to cross-cultural exchange and facilitates comparative study of the tale for readers interested in fairy-tale studies, cultural studies, and literary history.
Korporalität und Praxis : Revision der Leib-Körper-Differenz in Maurice Merleau-Pontys philosophischem Werk / Selin Gerlek. by 
The Origins of the Literary Vampire by
The long and distinguished tradition of the literary vampire began in Germany during the Age of Enlightenment. German literature was the first to adapt the vampire figure from central European folklore and superstition and give it literary form. Despite these German origins, scholarly attention devoted to literary vampires has consistently focused on a select set of sources: British and French literature, Bram Stoker's Dracula, and the phenomenon of the vampire superstition in general. While there have been many illuminating studies of pre-literary vampires and vampires that have already been firmly established as literary figures, the story of the crucial moment of transition from folkloric figure to literary subject has not yet been told. In The Origins of the Literary Vampire Heide Crawford redirects scholarly attention to the body of German poetry and prose where vampire folklore becomes vampire literature. This book focuses on the adaptation of the vampire superstition from central European folklore by German poets in the 18th and early 19th centuries for an audience that had become increasingly interested in superstition and occult phenomena in an Age of Enlightenment. In addition to establishing that the origins of the literary vampire in 18th and 19th century German poetry and prose were informed by the stories and reports of vampires from Central Europe, Crawford argues that the German poets who adapted this figure from superstition for their creative work immediately molded it into a metaphor for contemporary cultural anxieties and fears--a connection that would inspire horror literature in general and the traits of the literary vampire in particular for the 19th century and beyond. Contemporary culture has exhibited a marked fascination with eroticized and politicized applications of the vampire. This volume traces these erotic motifs, common political motifs and others to the first vampire poems that were written by German poets. Consequently, this book answers three central questions: What were the origins of the literary vampire; how was the vampire of folklore and superstition adapted for literature; and how did German poets contribute to the development of the vampire and Gothic horror literature? By answering these and other questions, The Origins of the Literary Vampire explains how the literary vampire became the ubiquitous horror figure it is today.
Phantastik by
Das Phantastische in Kunst, Literatur, Film, Musik und Alltagskultur. Das interdisziplinäre Handbuch nimmt die unterschiedlichen methodischen Zugänge zur Phantastik und deren intermediale Vielfalt in den Blick. Ebenso dargestellt wird die historische Entwicklung in verschiedenen Sprachkreisen: vom Englischen, Französischen und Deutschen bis zur skandinavischen, slawischen und iberischen Tradition. Eine Reihe von Einträgen widmet sich typischen Themen, Motiven (wie z. B. Feen, Zeitreise) sowie poetischen und poetologischen Schlüsselkonzepten.
Modeling motherhood in Weimar Germany: political and psychological discourses in women's writing by 
1968 – Ost – West — Deutsch-deutsche Kultur-Geschichten by 
Studio [21] Glossar Deutsch-Englisch A1
Studio [21] : Vokabeltaschenbuch. B1 by 
Der radikale Poet Werner Schwab : Theaterstar, Enfant terrible, Anti-Populist : Autor-Werk-Poetik by 
Die unendliche Geschichte by 
Ruf der Tiefe by 
