Summon is a search engine that searches all the articles and databases that the library has access to, as well as searching the library catalogue. Use it to find great articles for your assignments.
Full text access to over 8,500 journals (7,300 peer-reviewed) across a broad range of subjects, including the social sciences and the humanities. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals.
(IReL Resource)
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA)
An index and abstracts database of over 500 journals and periodicals, from more than 16 countries. ASSIA currently contains over 375,000 records from over 500 journals published in 16 different countries, including the UK and US. This database covers the literature of health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.
(IReL Resource)
Reports of the Economic & Social Research Institute.
Over 500 journals in the fields of business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology and medicine.
(IReL Resource)
Full text of more than 2,000 Elsevier journals in the life, physical, medical, technical and social sciences.
(IreL resource)
Over 2,000 full-text journals in the sciences and humanities.
(IReL Resource)
World Development Indicators (WDI)
A comprehensive database of development information covering more than 600 indicators from over 200 countries, and 18 regional and income groups. The extensive collection includes data on population, income, social, economic, financial, natural resources and environmental indicators from 1960 onwards.
Freely available.
A journal is an academic publication that is published regularly, which contains research by academics and researchers.
A database is an online collection of information such as journal articles, reports, case studies, ebooks and images which you can use in your studies. Some databases deal with one format (e.g. journal articles) or one subject while others deal with several subjects (known as multidisciplinary) and contain several formats.
An evaluation of professional or academic work by other experts working in the same field.
Open access is a publishing model for scholarly communication that makes research information available to readers at no cost, as opposed to the traditional subscription model in which readers have access to scholarly information by paying a subscription (usually via libraries).
Example:
MIRR is the college's Institutional Repository and is an example of what is available on open access. The repository contains research conducted by MIC lecturers and researchers.
