| SUBJECT | |
| Level Two | |
| 400 | Language |
| 401 | Philosophy and Theory: International Languages |
| 402 | Miscellany |
| 403 | Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Concordances |
| 404 | Special Topics of Language |
| 404.2 | Bilingualism |
| 409.2 | Linguistics |
The Inter-Library Loans service is a way for current students and staff of MIC Limerick and MIC Thurles to obtain research material which is not held in our college libraries or the University of Limerick Library. This service is available to:
Contact ILL at ill@mic.ul.ie
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Linguistics by
The third edition of The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Linguistics is an authoritative and invaluable reference source covering every aspect of its wide-ranging field. In 3,250 entries the Dictionary spans grammar, phonetics, semantics, languages (spoken and written), dialects, andsociolinguistics. Clear examples - and diagrams where appropriate - help to convey the meanings of even the most technical terms. It also incorporates entries on key scholars of linguistics, both ancient and modern, summarising their specialisms and achievements.With existing entries thoroughly revised and updated, and the addition of 100 new entries, this new edition expands its coverage of semantics, as well as recently emerging terminology within, for example, syntactic theory and sociolinguistics.Wide-ranging and with clear definitions, it is the ideal reference for students and teachers in language-related courses, and a great introduction to linguistics for the general reader with an interest in language and its study.
Corpus Linguistics by
Corpus linguistics is the study of language data on a large scale - the computer-aided analysis of very extensive collections of transcribed utterances or written texts. This textbook outlines the basic methods of corpus linguistics, explains how the discipline of corpus linguistics developed and surveys the major approaches to the use of corpus data. It uses a broad range of examples to show how corpus data has led to methodological and theoretical innovation in linguistics in general. Clear and detailed explanations lay out the key issues of method and theory in contemporary corpus linguistics. A structured and coherent narrative links the historical development of the field to current topics in 'mainstream' linguistics. Practical tasks and questions for discussion at the end of each chapter encourage students to test their understanding of what they have read and an extensive glossary provides easy access to definitions of technical terms used in the text.
The Cambridge Handbook of English Corpus Linguistics by
The Cambridge Handbook of English Corpus Linguistics (CHECL) surveys the breadth of corpus-based linguistic research on English, including chapters on collocations, phraseology, grammatical variation, historical change, and the description of registers and dialects. The most innovative aspects of the CHECL are its emphasis on critical discussion, its explicit evaluation of the state of the art in each sub-discipline, and the inclusion of empirical case studies. While each chapter includes a broad survey of previous research, the primary focus is on a detailed description of the most important corpus-based studies in this area, with discussion of what those studies found, and why they are important. Each chapter also includes a critical discussion of the corpus-based methods employed for research in this area, as well as an explicit summary of new findings and discoveries.
Linguistic Ethnography by
This is an engaging interdisciplinary guide to the unique role of language within ethnography. The book provides a philosophical overview of the field alongside practical support for designing and developing your own ethnographic research. It demonstrates how to build and develop arguments and engages with practical issues such as ethics, transcription and impact. There are chapter-long case studies based on real research that will explain key themes and help you create and analyse your own linguistic data. Drawing on the authors' experience they outline the practical, epistemological and theoretical decisions that researchers must take when planning and carrying out their studies. Other key features include: A clear introduction to discourse analytic traditions Tips on how to produce effective field notes Guidance on how to manage interview and conversational data Advice on writing linguistic ethnographies for different audiences Annotated suggestions for further reading Full glossary This book is a master class in understanding linguistic ethnography, it will of interest to anyone conducting field research across the social sciences.
Linguistics books are mainly held on Level 2 (400-409).
The map below shows the layout of the library and the location of each collection. Click on it to enlarge it.
The Shelfmark box on the left will also help you find what you are looking for.
The Library offers a Click & Collect service alongside our normal borrowing service.
How does Click and Collect work?
1. Order your books through Summon and your Library Account Online (See our How to Use Library Services Guide for an instructional video on how to request books)
2. Wait for the library to email you that your book is ready for collection
3. Come to the Library Reception to collect your book
Borrowing Rules
Undergraduate students can borrow up to 20 items
Postgraduate students and staff can borrow up to 28 items
Loan periods is 1 week but will be auto-renewed for 12 weeks (Exception is 1 day loans)
Exception: if an item is requested by another user it should be returned within 3 days or a €1 fine per day will apply
For more information, please click here.
In the Library Catalogue type in the author and/or the title into the search box.
Choose an option:
Features of Ebooks:
The Routledge Handbook of Educational Linguistics by 
The Impact of Everyday Language Change on the Practices of Visual Artists by 
Shaping writing grades: collocation and writing context effects by 
Obesity in the news: language and representation in the press by 
Natural Language Processing for Corpus Linguistics by 
Learner Corpus Research Meets Second Language Acquisition by 
Corpus analysis in different genres : academic discourse and learner corpora by 
