Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Linguistics: Journals & Databases

Basic Searching on Summon

Advanced Searching on Summon

How to search a database

Databases we found

Proquest Linguistics Collection

This database includes full-text journals and other sources in linguistics, including many titles indexed in Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA). It covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.

JSTOR

Browse or search JSTOR's Linguistics collection which contains journals, books and research reports.

MLA International Bibliography

The MLA International Bibliography currently contains a collection of 1.6 million citations drawn from 4,400 journals and other key global sources, with reference to books and articles published on modern languages, literature, folklore and linguistics. The coverage runs from 1963 to the present day with more than 66,000 records being added each year.

Project Muse

Browse or search Project Muse's collection of journals in the area of language and linguistics.

PsycINFO

Nearly two million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. Results can be limited to full-text, and using other limiters such as major subject headings, minor subject headings, language, date range and publication type. 

How to find e-journals on a topic

Journals we found

Applied Linguistics

Applied Linguistics studies the relationship between theoretical and practical aspects of language education.

Annual Review of Applied Linguistics

Covers bilingualism and multilingualism, pedagogical approaches, discourse analysis, innovation in language teaching, language use in professional contexts, language testing, language policy and sociolinguistics.

Journal of Sociolinguistics

Publishes articles about language in all its dimensions, macro and micro, as formal features or abstract discourses, as situated talk or written text.

Language in Society

Covers sociolinguistics (i.e., speech and language as aspects of social life).

International Journal of Corpus Linguistics

Publishes research that views language as a social phenomenon that can be investigated empirically on the basis of authentic spoken and written texts.

Second Language Research

Promotes research linking second language studies with neighboring disciplines which contribute to the understanding of the psychological mechanisms that guide learners' individual behavior and their interaction with other language users.

Connect with MIC Library

twitter logo        instagram logo        Youtube logo

Email: library@mic.ul.ie

Limerick Campus:

Mary Immaculate College, South Circular Road, Limerick, Ireland, V94 VN26