LibGuides: Mathematics Thurles: Journals & Databases

Finding Articles

Try this first:

You can search for articles in Summon.

Put the title of the article in the search bar. If we can provide an instant link you will see the journal article displayed - click Full Text Online to access the article.

Next steps:

If we cannot provide a quick link or the link fails, search for the journal title instead of the article title. Click the link to the full journal and then navigate to the year, volume and issue that you are looking for to see your article

Search Tips

Consider research question
Highlight key concepts / topics
Consider related terms and ideas
Use advanced search to be more specific in your search
Use the refine your search menu to revise your search results

Key Databases and Journals for Mathematics

Databases

MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database providing summaries of articles from all areas of mathematics from 1940.
(IReL Resource)
zbMath Open
zbMath Open is the world’s most comprehensive and longest-running abstracting and reviewing service in pure and applied mathematics.
(IReL resource)
Web of Science
A multi-disciplinary citation database covering over 10,000 of the world's highest impact research journals. It consists of the three databases: the Science Citation Index Expanded (1945-present), the Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-present) and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present).). It also provides cited reference searching.
(Provided by IReL)
Alternative access available: here
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full text of more than 2,000 Elsevier journals in the life, physical, medical, technical and social sciences.
(IreL resource)
American Mathematical Society Journals This link opens in a new window
Nine AMS publications available.
(IReL Resource)
For the following journals, all back issues are now freely available: Journal of the AMS, Mathematics of Computation, Proceedings of the AMS, Transactions of the AMS, Bulletin of the AMS.

Journals

ZDM
ZDM – Mathematics Education is one of the oldest mathematics education research journals in publication. The journal surveys, discusses, and builds upon current research and theoretical-based perspectives in mathematics education. In addition, it serves as a forum for critical analysis of issues within the field.
Educational Studies in Mathematics
Educational Studies in Mathematics presents new ideas and developments of major importance to those working in the field of mathematics education. It deals with methodological, pedagogical/didactical, political and socio-cultural aspects of teaching and learning of mathematics, rather than with specific programmes for teaching mathematics. Within this range, Educational Studies in Mathematics is open to all research approaches.
• Journal for Research in Mathematics Education
An official journal of the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM), JRME is the premier research journal in mathematics education and is devoted to the interests of teachers and researchers at all levels--preschool through college.
International Journal of Science and Mathematics Education
Founded by Ministry of Science and Technology, Taiwan, the International Journal of Science and Mathematics Education (IJSME) publishes original, peer reviewed articles on a variety of topics and research methods in both science and mathematics education. Articles address common issues in mathematics and science education.
Research in Mathematics Education
Research in Mathematics Education is an international English language journal, publishing original refereed articles on all aspects of mathematics education. Papers should address the central issues in terms which are of relevance across educational systems and informed by wider thinking in the field.

Full List of Mathematics Databases & Journals

Full List of Mathematics Databases
Follow this link to see a longer list for your subject
Full List of Mathematics Journals
Follow this link to see a list for your subject

Search for a Journal Title

Search for Print & Electronic Journals