Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

French Studies: Books & E-books

Shelf Location

SHELFMARK SUBJECT
Level Two
440 French Language
441 French writing system & phonology
442 French etymology
443 Dictionaries
445 Grammar
448 French language & usage
792 Theatre studies
808.066 Academic writing skills
840 French literature
841 Poetry
842 Drama
843 Fiction

Inter-Library Loans

The Inter-Library Loans service is a way for current students and staff of MIC Limerick and MIC Thurles to obtain research material which is not held in our college libraries or the University of Limerick Library. This service is available to:

  • Staff 
  • Postgraduate students
  • 3rd/4th-year undergraduates (for the Final Year Project)

Contact ILL at ill@mic.ul.ie

French dictionary

Collins English-French Dictionary

An online French to English and English to French dictionary. It also includes a translator tool.

Spotlight

ARTFL is the online version of the Encyclopaedia or Dictionary Raisonné des Sciences, des Arts et des Métiers published by Diderot and d'Alembert between 1751 and 1772. Contains 17 volumes of text and 11 volumes of plates  It was a reference work for the arts and sciences. 

Where in the Library?

Books on French Studies are held on Level 2.

The map below shows the layout of the library and the location of each collection. Click on it to enlarge it.

The Shelfmark box on the left will also help you find what you are looking for.

Borrowing

The Library offers a Click & Collect service alongside our normal borrowing service.

How does Click and Collect work?

1. Order your books through Summon and your Library Account Online (See our How to Use Library Services Guide for an instructional video on how to request books)

2. Wait for the library to email you that your book is ready for collection

3. Come to the Library Reception to collect your book

Borrowing Rules

Undergraduate students can borrow up to 20 items

Postgraduate students and staff can borrow up to 28 items

Loan periods is 1 week but will be auto-renewed for 12 weeks  (Exception is 1 day loans)

Exception: if an item is requested by another user it should be returned within 3 days or a €1 fine per day will apply

 

For more information, please click here.

E-Books (from Ebook Central)

In the Library Catalogue type in the author and/or the title into the search box.

  • Click on Full Text Online
  • Enter your college username and password

Choose an option

  • read the book online (there is more functionality with this option)
  • download on a 1 day or 2 day loan (you will need to have the Adobe Digitial Editions software downloaded on to your device in order to do this). Ebooks that are downloaded will automatically disappear from your device once the due date has expired.

Features of Ebooks:

  • Save books to your bookshelf
  • Share the link to the ebook
  • Get a citation for the book
  • Make notes (Please note that this option is only possible by selecting the 'Read Online' option)

New Books - French Studies

Finding Books on the Catalogue

Connect with Us!

twitter logo instagram logo Youtube logo

Email: library@mic.ul.ie

Limerick Campus:

Mary Immaculate College, South Circular Road, Limerick, Ireland, V94 VN26