Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

French Studies: Journals & Databases

Basic Searching on Summon

Advanced Searching on Summon

How to search a database

Databases we found

MLA International Bibliography 

The MLA International Bibliography is an essential tool for research in all aspects of modern languages and literature. The coverage runs from 1963 to the present day with more than 66,000 records being added each year.

JSTOR 

JSTOR is a large, multidisciplinary database, which includes some coverage of French studies. 

Film Index International

Provides an in-depth index of films from over 170 countries from the first silent films to the latest blockbusters as well as biographical information for over 800,000 personalities.

ARTFL

ARTFL is an online version of the Encyclopaedia or Dictionary Raisonné des Sciences, des Arts et des Métiers published by Diderot and d'Alembert between 1751 and 1772. Contains 17 volumes of text and 11 volumes of plates  It was a reference work for the arts and sciences. 

Oxford Reference Online

Contains dictionaries, language reference and subject reference works.

Proquest Dissertations & Theses UK & Ireland

Search within Dissertations and Theses A & I to find abstracts accepted for higher degrees by universities in the United Kingdom and Ireland.

RIAN

Provides access to Irish research publications available on open access such as doctoral and masters theses, book chapters and conference papers.

How to find e-journals on a topic

Journals we found

Journals

French Cultural Studies

A peer reviewed international journal that publishes research on French culture. Emphasis is given to such areas as television, cinema, the press, visual arts, and popular culture.

Irish Journal of French Studies

Articles published in English or French on any aspect of French and Francophone culture and society. Published by the Department of French in University College Cork.

Journal of French Language Studies

Publishes significant work on French phonology, morphology, syntax, lexis and semantics, sociolinguistics and variation studies.

Nineteenth-Century French Studies

Provides scholars and students with the opportunity to examine new trends, review research findings, and become better acquainted with professional developments in the field.

Yale French Studies

Contains cultural, national and economic paragidms.

Newspapers & Magazines

Le Monde

A French daily newspaper

L'Express. Edition Internationale (Paris)

A French weekly news magazine


You can search for a specific journal or browse the full collection of journals here

Social Media

Connect with MIC Library:

twitter logo instagram logo facebook logo Youtube logo