| SUBJECT | |
| Level Two | |
| 800 | Literature |
| 808 | Rhetoric and Collections of Literature |
| 808.042/808.066 | Study Skills/Academic Writing |
| 819.09 | Anglo-Irish Literature |
| 819.108 | Poetry (Anthologies) |
| 819.1912 | Anglo-Irish Poetry - Early 20th Century |
| 819.1914 | Anglo-Irish Poetry - Late 20th Century |
| 819.2914 | Anglo-Irish Drama - Late 20th Century |
| 819.3912 | Anglo-Irish Fiction |
| 819.4 | Anglo-Irish Essays |
| 820 | English & Old English Literatures |
| 821 | English Poetry |
| 822 | English Drama |
| 822.33 | English Drama - Shakespeare |
| 823 | English Fiction |
| 823.01 | English Fiction - Short Stories |
| 827 | English Satire |
The Inter-Library Loans service is a way for current students and staff of MIC Limerick and MIC Thurles to obtain research material which is not held in our college libraries or the University of Limerick Library. This service is available to:
Contact ILL at ill@mic.ul.ie
The Oxford Companion to English Literature by
The Oxford Companion to English Literature has long been established as the leading reference resource for students, teachers, scholars, and general readers of English literature. It provides unrivalled coverage of all aspects of English literature - from writers, their works, and the historical and cultural context in which they wrote, to critics, literary theory, and allusions. For the seventh edition, the Companion has been thoroughly revised and updated to meet the needs and concerns of today's students and general readers. Over 1,000 new entries have been added, ranging from new writers - Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Patrick Marber, David Mitchell, Arundhati Roy - to increased coverage of writers and literary movements from around the world. Coverage of American literature has been substantially increased, with new entries on writers such as Cormac McCarthy and Amy Tan and on movements and publications. Contextual and historical coverage has also been expanded, with new entries on European history and culture, post-colonial literature, as well as writers and literary movements from around the world that have influenced English literature. The Companion has always been a quick and dependable source of reference for students, and the new edition confirms its pre-eminent role as the go-to resource of first choice. All entries have been reviewed, and details of new works, biographies, and criticism have been brought up to date. So also has coverage of the themes, approaches and concepts encountered by students today, from terms to articles on literary theory and theorists. There is increased coverage of writers from around the world, as well as from Ireland, Scotland, and Wales, and of contextual topics, including film and television, music, and art. Cross-referencing has been thoroughly updated, with stronger linking from writers to thematic and conceptual entries. Meanwhile coverage of popular genres such as children's literature, science fiction, biography, reportage, crime fiction, fantasy or travel literature has been increased substantially, with new entries on writers from Philip Pullman to Anne Frank and from Anais Nin to Douglas Adams. The seventh edition of this classic Companion - now under the editorship of Dinah Birch, assisted by a team of 28 distinguished associate editors, and over 150 contributors - ensures that it retains its status as the most authoritative, informative, and accessible guide to literature available.
Books on English Language & Literature are mainly held on Level 2 (800 - 827)
The map below shows the layout of the library and the location of each collection. Click on it to enlarge it.
The Shelfmark box on the left will also help you find what you are looking for.
The Library offers a Click & Collect service alongside our normal borrowing service.
How does Click and Collect work?
1. Order your books through Summon and your Library Account Online (See our How to Use Library Services Guide for an instructional video on how to request books)
2. Wait for the library to email you that your book is ready for collection
3. Come to the Library Reception to collect your book
Borrowing Rules
Undergraduate students can borrow up to 20 items
Postgraduate students and staff can borrow up to 28 items
Loan periods is 1 week but will be auto-renewed for 12 weeks (Exception is 1 day loans)
Exception: if an item is requested by another user it should be returned within 3 days or a €1 fine per day will apply
For more information, please click here.
In the Library Catalogue type in the author and/or the title into the search box.
Choose an option:
Features of Ebooks:
Annotating modernism marginalia and pedagogy from Virginia Woolf to the confessional poets by 
Jane Austen's civilized women: morality, gender and the civilizing process by 
British Women Writers and the Writing of History, 1670-1820 by 
When the Light of the World Was Subdued, Our Songs Came Through by 
