Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English Language & Literature: Journals & Databases

Basic Searching on Summon

Advanced Searching on Summon

How to search a database

Databases we found

JSTOR

Provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

LION

Literature Online offers the full-text of more than 350,000 works of poetry, drama and prose from the eighth century to the present day.

Early English Books Online (EEBO)

Features page images of almost every work printed in the British Isles and North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere from 1470-1700.

Drama Online

Drama Online offers full text plays from new and established writers together with scholarly notes, annotated texts, critical analysis. Please note the MIC subscription does not include audio content. 

Oxford English Dictionary Online

Charts the meaning and evolution of over 600,000 words in the English language.

Oxford Reference Online

Contains subject reference works and dictionaries such as The Concise Oxford Companion to Irish Literature and The Oxford Companion to Chaucer.

Samuel Beckett Digital Manuscript Project

This project brings together digital facsimiles of documents that are preserved in different holding libraries, and adds transcriptions of Beckett's manuscripts, tools for bilingual and genetic version comparison, a search engine, and an analysis of the textual genesis of his works.


Click here to search other English language and literature databases.

How to find e-journals on a topic

Journals we found

Irish University Review

Focuses primarily on twentieth-century Irish literature.

Cambridge Journal of Postcolonial Literary Inquiry

Aims to deepen our grasp of postcolonial literary history while enabling us to stay comprehensively informed of all critical developments in the field.

Journal of Beckett Studies

Features scholarship and criticism on the work of Samuel Beckett and his circle.

Modern Language Review

Publishes articles predominantly on medieval and modern literature.

Shakespeare

Aims to bridge the gap between the disciplines of Shakespeare in performance studies and Shakespeare in English literature and language.

Studies

Studies examines Irish social, political, cultural and economic issues in the light of Christian values and explores the Irish dimension in literature, history, philosophy and religion.

Studies in the Novel

Covers studies of novels and novelists.

Times Literary Supplement

Provides a unique record of developments in literature, politics, scholarship and the arts.

PN Review (Poetry Nation)

Contains poetry, interviews, major essays, and reviews, committed to both the traditional and the experimental in poetry.

TESOL Journal: a Journal of Teaching and Classroom Research

Gives practitioners hands-on ideas for everyday applications in diverse E.S.L. and E.F.L. settings. Explores creative strategies for successful teaching.

International Journal of Corpus Linguistics

Publishes research that views language as a social phenomenon that can be investigated empirically on the basis of authentic spoken and written texts.

Social Media

Connect with MIC Library:

twitter logo instagram logo facebook logo Youtube logo