Full text access to over 8,500 journals (7,300 peer-reviewed) across a broad range of subjects, including the social sciences and the humanities. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals.
(IReL Resource)
Alternative access available: here.
Produced by the Australian Council for Educational Research, AEI is an index to materials at all levels of education and related fields, including educational research, policy administration, teacher education, curriculum, educational psychology and library and information science. The focus is information published in Australia, but research about Australian education published overseas is also included. Source documents include journal articles, monographs, research reports, theses, conference papers, legislation, parliamentary debates and newspaper articles. AEI contains records from 1978 onwards.
(IReL Resource)
Alternative access available: here.
Contains over 300,000 images representing objects from museums, galleries and private collections, as well as buildings and monuments. Its images cover visual culture worldwide, from pre-History to the present day. Media covered include photography, fine art, engravings, sculpture, architecture, the decorative arts, artefacts and applied arts. It addresses the interests of such disciplines as art, architecture, archaeology, anthropology, & ethnography, history, science & medicine.
Alternative access available: here.
A database for identifying journal articles and conference reports in the field of education (UK journals). It has particular strengths in educational policy, administration, assessment, evaluation, and special educational needs. It indexes and provides abstracts of journal articles from over 300 journals.
(IReL Resource)
Alternative access available: here.
This database provides scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals, and policy makers. It covers all levels of education — from early childhood to higher education — as well as all educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. The contents includes full text for more than 2,000 journals, 550 books and monographs, nearly 1700 education-related conference papers and citations for nearly 4 million articles, including book reviews.
Alternative access available: here.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) provides access to over 1 million bibliographic records (citations, abstracts) of journal articles and other education-related materials. Established in 1966, ERIC is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education.
(IReL Resource)
Alternative access available: here.
Full text journal service providing articles from nearly 100 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and allied organisations. Coverage includes basic/experimental psychology, clinical psychology, developmental psychology, education and school psychology, health psychology, organizational psychology, social psychology and social processes.
(IReL Resource)
Alternative access available: here.
Summon is a search engine that searches all the articles and databases that the library has access to, as well as searching the library catalogue. Use it to find great articles for your assignments.
A journal is an academic publication that is published regularly, which contains research by academics and researchers.
A database is an online collection of information such as journal articles, reports, case studies, ebooks and images which you can use in your studies. Some databases deal with one format (e.g. journal articles) or one subject while others deal with several subjects (known as multidisciplinary) and contain several formats.
An evaluation of professional or academic work by other experts working in the same field.
Open access is a publishing model for scholarly communication that makes research information available to readers at no cost, as opposed to the traditional subscription model in which readers have access to scholarly information by paying a subscription (usually via libraries).
Example:
MIRR is the college's Institutional Repository and is an example of what is available on open access. The repository contains research conducted by MIC lecturers and researchers.
