Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History: Journals & Databases

Basic Searching on Summon

Advanced Searching on Summon

How to search a database

Databases we found

JSTOR

JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journals, articles, books and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

Irish Newspaper Archives

This archive provides access to national and local newspapers, some of which go back as far as the eighteenth century. The archive is searchable by keyword and date.

House of Commons Parliamentary Papers

Provides access to three centuries of key primary source material: Bills and Acts 1801-1900; Command Papers 1833-1900; House of Commons Papers 1801-1900; Hansard 1803-2005. Click here for a guide on how to search the database.

Ancestry

Extensive genealogical data from the United States, the United Kingdom, and elsewhere - billions of records in census data, vital records, directories, photos, and more.

Archives Unbound

Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents. This collection includes:
- Correspondence from German Concentration Camps
- Holocaust & Records of Concentration Camps
- Jewish Underground Resistance
- Testaments to the Holocaust.

Dictionary of Irish Biography

This is the most comprehensive and authoritative biographical dictionary yet published for Ireland.

Irish Film & TV Research Online

This website is designed to bring together research material relating to Irish-made cinema and television as well as to Irish-themed audio-visual representations produced outside of Ireland.

Documents on Irish Foreign Policy

Documents on Irish Foreign Policy (DIFP) is a public history project for the study of modern Irish history through diplomacy. 

Bibliography of British and Irish History

This Bibliography provides bibliographic data on historical writing - from 55BC to the present. Some full-text is provided.


For a full list of history databases, click here

How to find e-journals on a topic

Journals we found

Irish Historical Studies

It publishes articles embodying original research on Irish history; articles on the scope and teaching of Irish history; select documents, with editorial comment; select and critical bibliographies and guides to sources.

Irish Economic and Social History

A peer-reviewed journal, it contains articles and shorter notes on all aspects of Irish economic and social history from the Middle Ages to the present day.

The Historical Journal

A peer-reviewed journal, it covers all aspects of European and world history since the 15th century.

Early Medieval Europe

Early Medieval Europe provides an indispensable source of information and debate on the history of Europe from the later Roman Empire to the eleventh century.

The Sixteenth Century Journal

Dedicated to providing readers with thought-provoking research and inquiry into the sixteenth century broadly defined (approximately 1450-1648).

Oral History Review

A peer-reviewed journal, it explores the authentication of human experience and research findings in oral history, including a wide range of social backgrounds, cultures and nationalities.

The American Historical Review

Features scholarly reviews and articles in all fields of history.

The Journal of American History

Covers all aspects of American history.

Studia Hibernica

Founded in 1961, Studia Hibernica is devoted to the study of the Irish language and its literature, Irish history and archaeology, Irish folklore and place names, and related subjects.

Archives and Records

Contains articles about the theory and practice of archives work.


To search for a specific journal, or to browse the full collection of journals, click here.

Social Media

Connect with MIC Library:

twitter logo instagram logo facebook logo Youtube logo