Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History: Online Resources

Evaluating Information

These tips will help you evaluate the quality, accuracy and reliability of information you find on the Web.

Authority

  • Who wrote the page - where is the information coming from?
  • Is the author qualified to speak on the topic?
  • Is the site reputable?

Accuracy

  • Is the information Correct?
  • Can you verify the information from another source?
  • Are there references available to back up the author's claims?

Objectivity

  • Is the purpose of the website to inform you?
  • Is it promoting or selling something?
  • Is it biased?

Currency

  • When was the site last updated?
  • How current are the links – have some expired or moved?

‚ÄčCoverage

  • What topics are covered on the site?
  • Is the information on the site well presented?
  • Is special software required to view the page or is it fee based?

Useful Websites

Irish History Online 

Is part of a European network of national historical bibliographies from fourteen countries. Irish History Online is an authoritative listing (in progress) of what has been written about Irish history from earliest times to the present.

History Hub

Is based at the School of History, University College Dublin. Our ambition is to make the most recent academic research available on-line to everyone who loves history. Our podcasts feature historians talking about a whole range of subjects from medieval to modern history, both Irish and international. 

The National Archives of Ireland

Occupying a key position in the cultural and intellectual life of the nation, the National Archives holds the records of the modern Irish State which document its historical evolution and the creation of our national identity, includes access to the Census of Ireland 1901/1911 records.

Ireland Illustrated 1680-1860

 A database of over 500 images of Ireland, with accompanying text, drawn from more than 50 manuscript and printed works, and highlighting several neglected or rarely accessible sources. It provides an opportunity to examine how, in the case of Ireland, diverse representations were created in the course of two centuries.

The First World War

The UK's National Archives portal to official UK government records of the First World War as well as a vast collection of letters, diaries, maps and photographs.

Chronicling America

Chronicling America is a website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).

Oral History Network Ireland

A formal network for the community of oral historians and collectors of oral testimony in Ireland

The Irish Independence Film Collection

The Decade of Commemorations presented the IFI Irish Film Archive with a unique opportunity to create the Irish Independence Film Collection, comprising Topical budget and British Pathé newsreels, with support from the Dept of Culture Heritage and the Gaeltacht.

CAIN (Conflict Archive on the Internet)

This website contains information and source material on 'the Troubles' and politics in Northern Ireland from 1968 to the present.

Social Media

Connect with MIC Library:

twitter logo instagram logo facebook logo Youtube logo