| SUBJECT | |
| Ground Floor | |
| 006.7876 | Podcasting |
| 025.06795 | Digital Media & Sport |
| 070 | Journalism |
| 111.85 | Philosophy & Media |
| 175 | Ethics & Media |
| First Floor | |
| 301.161 | Social Psychology & Mass Media |
| 302 | Fandom |
| 302.23 | Media & Communication |
| 302.231 | Social Media & Digital Media |
| 305 | Celebrity & Gender in Media and Film |
| 384.5 | Broadcasting & Communication |
| 384.55 | Television & Communication |
| 384.8 | Motion Picture Industry |
| 658.8343 | Digital Culture |
| 777 | Cinematography and Videography |
| 791.43 | Film Studies & Performing Arts |
| 791.43 | DVD collection |
| 791.4301 | Film Theory |
| 791.4365 | Irish & British Film Studies and World Cinema |
| 791.44 | Radio & Performing Arts |
| 791.4808 | Children & Film |
| 791.54 | Television & Performing Arts |
| 808.042 / 808.066 | Study skills / academic writing |
| 808.23 | Scriptwriting |
Books are arranged by subject using the Dewey Classification System. This system arranges books by subject. Each book is assigned a shelfmark number which is a series of numbers followed by letters. The number identifies the subject and the longer the number the more specific the subject is. The number can be found on the spine of the book.
The map below shows the layout of the library and the location of each collection. Click on the map to enlarge it.
Request items held outside of MIC Library collections. For more information about this service, please click here
Use the Catalogue to search for books or the SEARCH ALL tab on the library home page.
When you search, note the following:
A Dictionary of Media and Communication by
This authoritative and up-to-date A-Z covers all aspects of interpersonal, mass, and networked communication, including digital and mobile media, advertising, journalism, and nonverbal communication. This new edition is particularly focused on expanding coverage of social media terms, toreflect its increasing prominence to media and communication studies as a whole.More than 2,000 entries have been revised, and over 500 new terms have been added to reflect current theoretical terminology, including concepts such as artificial intelligence, cisgender, fake news, hive mind, use theory, and wikiality. The dictionary also bridges the gap between theory andpractice, and contains many technical terms that are relevant to the communication industry, including dialogue editing, news aggregator, and primary colour correction.The text is complemented by biographical notes and extensively cross-referenced, while web links supplement the entries. It is an indispensable guide for undergraduate students of media and communication studies, and also for those taking related subjects such as television studies, videoproduction, communication design, visual communication, marketing communications, semiotics, and cultural studies.
A Dictionary of Social Media by
This fascinating dictionary covers the whole realm of social media, providing accessible, authoritative, and concise entries centred primarily on websites and applications that enable users to create and share content, or to participate in social networking. From the authors of the popular Dictionary of Media and Communication, Daniel Chandler and Rod Munday, comes a title that complements and supplements their previous dictionary, and that will be of great use to social media marketing specialists, bloggers, and to any general internet user.
Researching Communications by
The new edition of the highly respected Researching Communications is a comprehensive and authoritative guide to researching media and communication. Researching Communications, Third Edition is an invaluable guide to performing and analysing research tasks, introducing the major research methods, giving detailed examples of research analysis and practical step-by-step guidance in clear language. Written by highly regarded experts in the field, the third edition includes new sections on social media analysis, digital research methods and comparative research, as well as updated case studies, international examples and details of recent developments in media and communication studies. Undergraduate and postgraduate media and communication students will find Researching Communications an invaluable resource at all stages of their course.
TikTok Cultures in the United States by
TikTok Cultures in the United States examines the role of TikTok in US popular culture, paying close attention to the app's growing body of subcultures. Featuring an array of scholars from varied disciplines and backgrounds, this book uses TikTok (sub)cultures as a point of departure from which to explore TikTok's role in US popular culture today. Engaging with the extensive and growing scholarship on TikTok from international scholars, chapters in this book create frameworks and blueprints from which to analyze TikTok within a distinctly US context, examining topics such as gender and sexuality, feminism, race and ethnicity and wellness. Shaping TikTok as an interdisciplinary field in and of itself, this insightful and timely volume will be of great interest to students and scholars of new and digital media, social media, popular culture, communication studies, sociology of media, dance, gender studies, and performance studies.
The Ministry of Truth by
The Ministry of Truth scrutinizes the information market in the era of the attention economy calling on citizens, public educators and politicians to action in averting the role of BigTech in critical infrastructure. Through phenomena such as influencers, 'fake news', and covid conspiracies, the authors reveal how social platforms control facts, feelings and narratives in our time to such a degree that they are the de facto arbiters of truth. BigTech seemingly controls the information infrastructure and also decides what we pay attention to. The authors suggest hope for a more democratic internet through their systematic analysis of the largest players of the information age. The aim is to amplify human agency for a robust deliberative democracy -- not version 2.0 -- but a lasting version with staying power. This book appeals to the general interest reader and professional invested in the mobilization of responsible technological development. Vincent F. Hendricks is Professor of Formal Philosophy at The University of Copenhagen. He is Director of the Center for Information and Bubble Studies (CIBS) funded by the Carlsberg Foundation. Camilla Mehlsen is Digital Media Expert and Spokesperson for the Danish child organization Children's Welfare. She is author of several books on digital literacy and her work on digital media has been published in various newspapers and magazines.
eBooks are books in digital format that can be read on a computer, tablet or mobile device and give full-text access to academic material.
They are available 24/7 via the library website and are accessible on and off-campus.
Most of the eBooks available through MIC library are from a platform called eBook Central.
There are two options available on this platform:
Features:
What Newspapers, Films, and Television Do Africans Living in Britain See and Read? by 
Diaspora and Media in Europe : Migration, Identity, and Integration by 
Media Pluralism in the Digital Era: Legal, Economic, Social, and Political Lessons Learnt from Europe by 
Way out West
Lincoln
Minority Report
The Truman Show
Being John Malkovich by 
Her by 
Inception by 
Studio Thinking 3: the real benefits of visual arts education by 
The SAGE Handbook of Social Media Research Methods by 
Discourse, media, and conflict : examining war and resolution in the news by 
Platforms, power, and politics : an introduction to political communication in the digital age by 
WhatsApp : from a one-to-one messaging app to a global communication platform by 
Routledge Handbook of Media, Conflict and Security by 
