Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Media & Communication Studies: Online Resources

Evaluating Information

These tips will help you evaluate the quality, accuracy and reliability of information you find on the Web.

Authority

  • Who wrote the page - where is the information coming from?
  • Is the author qualified to speak on the topic?
  • Is the site reputable?

Accuracy

  • Is the information Correct?
  • Can you verify the information from another source?
  • Are there references available to back up the author's claims?

Objectivity

  • Is the purpose of the website to inform you?
  • Is it promoting or selling something?
  • Is it biased?

Currency

  • When was the site last updated?
  • How current are the links – have some expired or moved?

‚ÄčCoverage

  • What topics are covered on the site?
  • Is the information on the site well presented?
  • Is special software required to view the page or is it fee based?

Useful Websites

Handbook of Journalism

The Handbook of Journalism is based on the independence principles underlying the Reuter's Trust. It is a guide to best practice.

Press Council of Ireland

The Press Council of Ireland is responsible for the oversight of the professional principles embodied in the code of practice and with upholding the freedom of the press.

Broadcasting Authority of Ireland

The BAI is the regulator of broadcasting in Ireland. It monitors and enforces compliance of the licensed broadcasters with the broadcasting rules and decides on complaints from viewers and listeners regarding broadcasting content.

RTÉ Archives News Collection

RTÉ News reports recorded on videotape between 1985 and 1999 have been digitised for long term preservation with the support of the BAI Archiving Scheme. The News Collection is being made available to view online beginning with stories from 1985 and new content being added on a regular basis.

International Association for Media and Communication Research

The International Association for Media and Communication Research - IAMCR - is the preeminent worldwide professional organisation in the field of media and communication research. The association aims to support and develop media and communication research throughout the world.

European Views

European Views is an online media organisation providing an analysis of EU policy developments through the production and broadcasting of exclusive video interviews and programmes.

Simply Scripts

A database of hundreds of downloadable scripts, movie scripts, screenplays and transcripts of current and classic films, television, anime and radio shows.

The Irish Film Institute

The Irish Film Institute is Ireland's national cultural institution for film. It provides audiences throughout Ireland with access to the finest independent, Irish and international cinema.

The British Film Institute

A charitable organisation which is governed by a Royal Charter.  It combines cultural, creative and industrial roles, bringing together the BFI National Archive and BFI Reuben Library, film distribution, exhibition and education at BFI Southbank and BFI IMAX, publishing and festivals.

Cineuropa

Cineuropa is the first European portal dedicated to cinema and audiovisual in 4 languages. With daily news, interviews, data bases, in-depth investigations into the audiovisual industry, Cineuropa aims at promoting the European film industry throughout the world.

Radio Garden

Radio Garden invites you to tune into thousands of live radio stations across the globe.

Verification Handbook

The Verification Handbook is a groundbreaking new resource for journalists and aid responders, which provides step-by-step guidelines for using user-generated content during emergencies.

Connect with Us!