Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Media & Communication Studies: Journals & Databases

Basic Searching on Summon

Advanced Searching on Summon

How to search a database

Databases we found

Communication Source

Full-text of nearly 700 journals in the areas of mass media, communications theory, linguistics, organizational communication, phonetics and speech pathology. It also provides abstracting and indexing for over 1000 titles. 

JSTOR

JSTOR offers multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections that include complete runs of journals. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.

Irish Film & TV Research Online

This website is designed to bring together the wide diversity of research material relating to Irish-made cinema and television as well as to Irish-themed audio-visual representations produced outside of Ireland.

Film Indexes Online/Screen Studies Online

Provides a comprehensive survey of current publications related to film scholarship alongside detailed and expansive filmographies.

Oxford Reference Online

Contains subject reference works and dictionaries such as A Dictionary of Media and Communication.

Nexis UK

Nexis Advance UK provides full-text access to articles from regional, national and international newspapers as well as company profiles and country reports.

Click here for a full list of our online newspapers.

Sage Research Methods

This database supports beginning and advanced researchers in every step of a research project, from writing a research question, choosing a method, gathering and analysing data, to writing up and publishing the findings.

The library has access to the following two collections:

Sage Research Methods Cases Part 1 contains 600+ cases. You can click on the link 'Learn about using cases' on the left-hand side to browse the cases by method (e.g. survey research or qualitative interviewing), by discipline or by academic level (e.g. introductory undergraduate level, advanced undergraduate level or by postgraduate level)

SRM Video: Practical Research & Academic Skills develops the practical skills necessary to conduct successful research with this collection of streaming video.


Click here for the full list of media databases.

How to find e-journals on a topic

Journals we found

Communication Theory

Contributes to the theoretical development and integration of communications. Covers transcending methodological provinces, geographical boundaries and media specialization.

Critical Studies in Media Communication

Focuses on the range of critical perspectives which help define the expanding area of mass communication research.

Journal of Mass Media Ethics

Peer reviewed articles dealing with mass media content & the behavior of practitioners in mass communications disciplines.

Media, Culture and Society

Provides a major international forum for the presentation of research and discussion concerning the media, including the newer information and communication technologies, within their political, economic, cultural and historical contexts.

Film Quarterly

Contains articles and interviews focusing on experimental, documentary, and special-interest films.

Journal of Screenwriting

Highlights current academic and professional thinking about the screenplay and intends to promote, stimulate and bring together current research and contemporary debates around the screenplay

Newspaper Research Journal

Provides a forum for comprehensive, current research and discussion on print journalism.

Television and New Media

Television & New Media is an international journal showcasing key intellectual developments in television and new media studies.


To search for a specific journal or using keywords please click here

Social Media

Connect with MIC Library:

twitter logo instagram logo facebook logo Youtube logo