Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Little Book of Self-Care by
Call Number: Wellbeing Collection NOA
Step back from the overload and find some time for yourself. With encouraging reminders, inspiring thoughts, easy wins and practical advice, The Little Book of Self Care will help you identify your needs so you can relax, refuel and find calm in your hectic life.
The Compassionate Mind by
Call Number: Wellbeing Collection GIL
Professor Paul Gilbert explains how new research shows how we can all learn to develop compassion for ourselves and others. He explores how our minds have developed to be highly sensitive and quick to react to perceived threats and how this fast-acting threat-response system can be a source of anxiety, depression and aggression. He describes how studies have also shown that developing kindness and compassion for self and others can help in actually increaseing feelings of contentment and well-being.
Wherever you go, there you are by
Call Number: Wellbeing Collection KAB
Jon Kabat-Zinn maps out a simple path for cultivating mindfulness in our lives, and awakening us to the unique beauty and possibilities of each present moment.
Little Book of Mindfulness by
Call Number: Wellbeing Collection COL
Mindfulness is the easy way to gently let go of stress and be in the moment. Dr Patrizia Collard shows how to bring simple 5- and 10-minute practices into your day in order to free yourself from stress and, ultimately, find more peace in your life.
Finding Hope in the Age of Anxiety by
Call Number: Wellbeing Collection HAY
We have choices. We can acknowledge our thoughts and feelings and take our power back from anxiety by facing it with understanding, courage and compassion. Dr Claire Hayes presents anxiety as a normal part of every stage of life, from childhood through to adolescence and adulthood. Using the principles of Cognitive Behavioural Therapy (CBT), Dr Hayes helps us to recognise, understand and take control of the unhelpful thoughts, beliefs and actions that cause anxiety.
Publication Date: 1990-12-01
The author looks at ways in which the words people use can prevent them from being aware of themselves and others. It offers a Christian perspective on the importance of awareness in understanding ourselves and the world around us.
The Little Book of Sound by
Call Number: Wellbeing Collection BRE
A small pocket guide on being 'sound' to yourself and others and how it can have a positive impact on your daily mental health.
The Power of Now by
Call Number: Wellbeing Collection TOL
Surrender to the present moment, where problems do not exist. It is here we find our joy, are able to embrace our true selves and discover that we are already complete and perfect. If we are able to be fully present and take each step in the Now we will be opening ourselves to the transforming experience of The Power of Now.
Mindfulness: a practical guide to finding peace in a frantic world by
Call Number: Wellbeing Collection WIL
MINDFULNESS reveals a set of simple yet powerful practices that can be incorporated into daily life to help break the cycle of unhappiness, stress, anxiety and mental exhaustion and promote genuine joie de vivre.